confErence SERIES

in partnership with

L'Univesité de Saint-BonifaceL'Université de WinnipegL'Université du Manitoba

To pay tribute to a continual tradition in the history of Alliance française du Manitoba, the elaboration of a series of conferences is in progress, thanks to the support of the three universities: the University of Saint-Boniface, the University of Winnipeg and the University of Manitoba. Between January and October 2015, several University lecturers, such as Lise Gaboury-Diallo, Jacqueline Blay, Liliane Rodriguez, Dominique Laporte and Michelle Keller, will cover topics in the fields of language and culture on campus. A conference by François Lentz and Huguette Le Gall about the history of Alliance française du Manitoba will be given on the institution’s premises.






Conference by Dominique Laporte :
   "A french-canadian challenge: the remplacement of William F. Osborne at the University of Manitoba in 1943"

Tuesday, September 15th at 2:30 pm, Room 409 (4th floor, Tier Building)
@ University of Manitoba,
66 Chancellors Circ

L'Université du Manitoba Dominique Laporte

Dominique Laporte is Associate Professor and Graduate Chair in the Department of French, Spanish and Italian at the University of Manitoba. He has been a contributor to the critical edition of George Sand’s Œuvres complètes (Éditions Honoré Champion). With seventeen collaborators working under his direction, he is preparing a critical edition of Eugène Labiche’s Théâtre complet, for the Éditions Classiques Garnier. With other collaborators, he is also preparing a special issue of Le Rocambole, Les Amis du Roman populaire Bulletin, in anticipation of the bicentennial of the birth of Paul Féval in 2016. Developing another area of interest, he is at work on the history of the French-Canadian and Franco-American press. He has recently edited the 35th issue of Francophonies d’Amérique, entitled: Les journaux des communautés francophones minoritaires en Amérique du Nord.

In order to find a replacement for William Frederick Osborne, founder and first Chair of the Department of French from 1913 to 1943, the University of Manitoba President in 1943, Sidney Earle Smith, wrote to Father Antoine d’Eschambault, second President of the St. Boniface Historical Society. Their letters, as well as those of Father d’Eschambault sent to Quebec and Ottawa to find that rare bird, testify not only to Father d’Eschambault’s influence in Manitoba and the French-Canadian institutional system, but also to the importance he placed on French-Canadian hiring at the University of Manitoba. None of the candidates he had recommended succeeded William F. Osborne, but the scholars, as well as the community at large, benefited from the hiring of Cyril Meredith Jones. Before establishing a Ph.D. program in French in 1964, in the 1940’s, Meredith Jones was the driving force behind a series of talks broadcasted in French on CKY in Winnipeg, as well as a French course for Radio-Saint-Boniface (CKSB) English-speaking listeners. In addition, he was Vice-President and President of the Alliance française du Manitoba for a long time.

Conference by Michelle Keller :
   "The vulgarisation of french-canadian literature by radio shows at the University of Manitoba, 1940-1949"

Tuesday, September 15th at 3 pm, Room 409 (4th floor, Tier Building)
@ University of Manitoba,
66 Chancellors Circ

L'Université de Winnipeg Michelle Keller

Michelle Keller is a Ph.D. student in French-Canadian Studies at the University of Manitoba. She is funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship) and the Centre canadien de recherche sur les francophonies en milieu minoritaire of the Institut français at the University of Regina. Under the supervision of Dr. Dominique Laporte, she is preparing her thesis on the “refrancization” of francophone youth in Western Canada. Her article on the relationship between youth and the French-language newspaper La Liberté in Manitoba was published in the 35th issue of the multidisciplinary journal Francophonies d’Amérique. Passionate about archives, she is a Board member of the St. Boniface Historical Society since June 2014. 

In the 1940s, professors from the University of Manitoba participated in a radio program broadcast on CKY called “University on the Air.” This presentation will take a closer look at the literary shows, those specifically French-Canadian, hosted by professors from the Department of French. The primary goal will be to demonstrate the extent to which the professors’ shows supported the autonomization of French-Canadian literature, begun after the Second World War.

Conference by Huguette Le Gall and François Lentz :
   "The Alliance Française's 100 anniversary: a story to tell"

Tuesday, May 5th, 2015, 6pm,
@ Alliance Française du Manitoba,
934 Corydon Ave

Huguette Le Gall et François LentzThis lecture recounts the history of the Alliance Française du Manitoba, presenting the various facets of its activities since its foundation in 1915; this retrospective is based on newspaper articles that publicized the Alliance's activies over the years. Telling this story is to shine light on the ever-growing influence of the organisation; it also serves to make the case for the Alliance's specific and complementary role in the development of the french language and, more broadly, French Culture in Manitoba.

François Lentz has worked for many years in a variety of positions in the field of French education in Winnipeg and many cities throughout the world: continuing education, university teaching, research, curriculum construction, etc. He served as Chair of the Board of the Alliance Française du Manitoba from 1999 to 2001, and is currently a member of its Centenary Committee. He was also Chair of the Board of the Maison Gabrielle-Roy from 2009 to 2013, and from 2008 to 2014, was a member of the administrative office of the Centre d'études franco-canadiennes de l'Ouest at the Université de Saint-Boniface, with whom he is now collaborating.

Huguette Le Gall has worked for more than 30 years in communications at Radio-Canada Manitoba, most notably in Public Relations and Marketing. Translator by training, she was co-owner and editor-in-chief of Édition des Plaines from 2008 to 2013, and is currently working there as a freelance editor. She has served on many Boards for organizations working in fields related to Arts and Culture: the Board that brought the Maison Gabrielle-Roy to life, and the Board that created the Maison des artistes visuels francophones. She was Chair for the  Amis de Gabrielle Roy and initiated the Circuit littéraire de Gabrielle Roy. She has been on the Board of the Alliance Française du Manitoba many times, and currently serves as its Chair, since 2010, as well as being Chair of the Centenary Committee, formed of past Chairs of the Institution.

Conference by Liliane Rodriguez:
   « Breton? Poirette? Canard? »

Wednesday, March 18th at 12:30. Room 4M46 (4th floor, Manitoba Hall)
@ the University of Winnipeg,
515 Portage Avenue

L'Université de Winnipeg Liliane RodriguezLiliane Rodriguez is a professor at the University of Winnipeg. For over thirty years, she has studied the French language in Canada. She is the author of the first book devoted to French in Western Canada, Mots d’hier, mots d’aujourd’hui (“Words of Yesterday, Words of Today”, Plains Publishing, 1984), several other works (the French language in Manitoba (Canada): History lexicometric and evolution, Tübingen, Niemeyer, 2006) and a hundred publications, including "The role of Godfrey in the description of French in Canada" (Frédéric Godefroy, F. Duval (Ed), Paris, Ecole des Chartes, 2003 ). Her research focuses on language variation, bilingualism, translation, minority languages and the language of young people in rural communities in Manitoba.

What is Geolinguistics? To answer this question, we need to remember that a single language is rich in dialectal and topolectal variants. I'll illustrate this variety with examples of current words, old and new, still used today in Canada or France. Geolinguistics also means being aware of the history of this French domain. Starting with roots in the 18th century, it expanded at the turn of the 20th century with large-scale fieldwork. The pionniers of Geolinguistics, from Henri Grégoire, in France, to Gaston Dulong in Canada, deserve to be known. Their work shed dramatic new light on linguistic change, and enriched the French cultural heritage on both sides of the Atlantic.

Conference by Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz:
   « The Alliance française du Manitoba's 100 years:
a story worth telling »

Wednesday, March 4th, 11:30,
@ Université de Saint Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale (ACFAS-Manitoba noon-hour lectures)
L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz
This lecture recounts the history of the Alliance Française du Manitoba, presenting the various facets of its activities since its foundation in 1915; this retrospective is based on newspaper articles that publicized the Alliance's activies over the years. Telling this story is to shine light on the ever-growing influence of the organisation; it also serves to make the case for the Alliance's specific and complementary role in the development of the french language and, more broadly, French Culture in Manitoba.

François Lentz has worked for many years in a variety of positions in the field of French education in Winnipeg and many cities throughout the world: continuing education, university teaching, research, curriculum construction, etc. He served as Chair of the Board of the Alliance Française du Manitoba from 1999 to 2001, and is currently a member of its Centenary Committee. He was also Chair of the Board of the Maison Gabrielle-Roy from 2009 to 2013, and from 2008 to 2014, was a member of the administrative office of the Centre d'études franco-canadiennes de l'Ouest at the Université de Saint-Boniface, with whom he is now collaborating.

Huguette Le Gall has worked for more than 30 years in communications at Radio-Canada Manitoba, most notably in Public Relations and Marketing. Translator by training, she was co-owner and editor-in-chief of Édition des Plaines from 2008 to 2013, and is currently working there as a freelance editor. She has served on many Boards for organizations working in fields related to Arts and Culture: the Board that brought the Maison Gabrielle-Roy to life, and the Board that created the Maison des artistes visuels francophones. She was Chair for the  Amis de Gabrielle Roy and initiated the Circuit littéraire de Gabrielle Roy. She has been on the Board of the Alliance Française du Manitoba many times, and currently serves as its Chair, since 2010, as well as being Chair of the Centenary Committee, formed of past Chairs of the Institution.

Conference by Jacqueline Blay :
   « The Association d’éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba, a 52-year open secret »

Tuesday, February 10th at 11:30. Room 0615, Marcel Desautels Wing,
@ the Université de Saint-Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale
(ACFAS-Manitoba noon-hour lectures)
L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Jacqueline Blay
Jacqueline Blay is a historian and author of four books on the History of Francophone Manitoba. With a Masters in Canadian History, she was a journaliste and producer for Radio-Canada, a Provincial Civil Servant, and currently teaches a course on French and Métis Manitoba at the Université de Saint-Boniface. She has earned the Prix Réseau (1988) and Prix Riel (2014), as well as the Prix Champlain (2011 et 2014) for her works. She is currently working on the third volume of the History of Francophone Manitoba, from Gabrielle Roy to Daniel Lavoie (1916-1968).
For 52 years, the Association d'éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba (AECFM) has been at the fore of the creation of the Franco-Manitoban identity, thanks to a network of educational institutions controlled by and for francophones. From 1916 to 1968, the AECFM has brought the intents, the projects and the hopes of survival of French Manitoba to governments, by putting in place the Resistance project, as enunciated at the founding convention in 1916. With the help of the Catholic clergy, priests of parishes and nuns of congregations, secular teachers devoted sometimes to the point of abnegation, the AECFM has acheived its goal: 50 years after its foundation, there are still Francophones in Manitoba. To reach it, they have had to deal with sometimes overzealous school inspectors, proposed laws that endangered their school divisions, and the effects of two World Wars and the Great Depression. By continuing to teach French semi-clandestinely, the AECFM illustrates the resilience of the Francophone minority.

Conference by Lise Gaboury-Diallo :
   « La littérature franco-manitobaine : un état des lieux »
      (A survey of Franco-Manitoban literature)

Tuesday, January 20th, 2015, at 11:45 @ Université de Saint-Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale (ACFAS-Manitoba noon-hour lectures)

L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Lise Gaboury-Diallo
Born in Saint-Boniface, LISE GABOURY-DIALLO is a professor of French and French literature at the University of Saint-Boniface. She is the author of a number of critical articles, short stories, and various other texts, including four collections of poetry:Subliminales (1999), transitions (2002), Poste restante : cartes poétiques du Sénégal( 2005) and Homestead, poèmes du cœur de l’Ouest (2005), which won the first prize in the French poetry category of the 2004 CBC Literary Awards.

cycle de confErences

en partenariat avec

L'Univesité de Saint-BonifaceL'Université de WinnipegL'Université du Manitoba

Pour rendre hommage à une tradition constante dans l’histoire de l’Alliance française du Manitoba, un cycle de conférences est en cours d’élaboration, grâce au concours des trois universités : l’Université de Saint-Boniface, l’Université de Winnipeg et l’Université du Manitoba. Entre janvier et octobre 2015, plusieurs conférenciers universitaires, tels que Lise Gaboury-Diallo, Jacqueline Blay, Liliane Rodriguez, Dominique Laporte et Michelle Keller, traiteront, sur campus, de sujets entourant la langue et la culture. Une conférence sur l’histoire de l’Alliance française du Manitoba, donnée par François Lentz et Huguette Le Gall, se tiendra dans les locaux de l’institution.

Conférence de Dominique Laporte :
   « Un enjeu canadien-français : le remplacement en 1943 de William F. Osborne à l'Université du Manitoba »

mardi 15 septembre à 14h30, salle 409 (4e étage, Tier Building)
@ l'Université du Manitoba,
66 Chancellors Circ

L'Université du Manitoba Dominique Laporte

Dominique Laporte est professeur agrégé et coordonnateur des programmes d’études supérieures au Département de français, d’espagnol et d’italien de l’Université du Manitoba. Il a collaboré à l’édition critique des Œuvres complètes de George Sand (Éditions Honoré Champion) et prépare présentement avec une équipe de dix-sept collaborateurs une édition critique du Théâtre complet d’Eugène Labiche sous sa direction, pour le compte des Éditions Classiques Garnier. Avec d’autres collaborateurs, il prépare aussi un numéro spécial du Rocambole, le Bulletin des Amis du Roman populaire, en vue du bicentenaire de la naissance de Paul Féval en 2016. Parallèlement à ses travaux sur la France littéraire et culturelle du XIXe siècle, il poursuit ses recherches sur l’histoire des journaux canadiens-français et franco-américains. Il a dirigé le numéro 35 de Francophonies d’Amérique, Les journaux des communautés francophones minoritaires en Amérique du Nord.

Pour trouver un successeur à William Frederick Osborne, directeur-fondateur du département de français de 1913 à 1943, le President de l’Université du Manitoba en 1943, Sidney Earle Smith, écrivit à l’abbé Antoine d’Eschambault, deuxième président de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface. Leur correspondance, ainsi que des lettres envoyées au Québec et à Ottawa par l’abbé d’Eschambault pour dénicher « l’oiseau rare », attestent non seulement l’influence de l’abbé d’Eschambault au Manitoba et au sein du réseau institutionnel canadienfrançais, mais encore l’importance qu’il accordait à l’embauche d’un Canadien français à l’Université du Manitoba. Aucune des personnes qu’il recommanda ne succéda à William F. Osborne, mais la nomination de Cyril Meredith Jones profita aussi bien au grand public qu’au milieu universitaire. Avant d’établir un programme d’études françaises au troisième cycle en 1964, Meredith Jones donna dans les années 1940 une impulsion à des séries de conférences radiodiffusées en français sur les ondes de CKY à Winnipeg, ainsi qu’à un cours de français destiné aux auditeurs anglophones de Radio-Saint-Boniface (CKSB). Il exerça en outre les fonctions de viceprésident et de président à l’Alliance française du Manitoba

Conférence de Michelle Keller :
   « La vulgarisation de la littérature canadienne-française par des émissions radiophoniques de l'Université du Manitoba, 1940-1949»

mardi 15 septembre à 15h00, salle 409 (4e étage, Tier Building)
@ l'Université du Manitoba,
66 Chancellors Circ

L'Université de Winnipeg Michelle Keller

Michelle Keller est doctorante en études canadiennes-françaises à l’Université du Manitoba. Elle est titulaire d'une bourse de doctorat du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et d'une subvention du Centre canadien de recherche sur les francophonies en milieu minoritaire de l'Institut français à l'Université de Regina. Sous la direction du professeur Dominique Laporte, elle prépare sa thèse sur la refrancisation des jeunes francophones dans l’Ouest canadien. Son article sur les rapports entre les jeunes et le journal francophone La Liberté au Manitoba a paru dans le numéro 35 de la revue pluridisciplinaire Francophonies d'Amérique. Passionnée pour les archives, elle siège au conseil d’administration de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface depuis juin 2014.

Dans les années 1940, des professeurs de l’Université du Manitoba ont participé à « University on the Air », un programme radiophonique diffusé sur les ondes de CKY. Cette présentation examinera de plus près les émissions sur la littérature canadienne-française, animées par des professeurs du Département de français. Le but premier sera de montrer dans quelle mesure ces émissions ont appuyé l’autonomisation de la littérature canadienne-française amorcée après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

Conférence d'Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz :
   « Les 100 ans  de l'Alliance française du Manitoba :
une histoire à raconter »

Mardi 5 mai 2015 à 18h,
@ Alliance Française du Manitoba,
934 avenue Corydon

La conférence retracera l'histoire de l'Alliance française du Manitoba, en présentant les diverses facettes de ses activités depuis sa fondation en 1915; cet historique s'appuiera sur des extraits d'articles des journaux qui ont largement relayé les activités de l'Alliance durant toutes ces années. Raconter cette histoire, c'est mettre en évidence le rayonnement, de plus en plus large au fil des années, de l'organisme; c'est aussi faire valoir le rôle de l'Alliance française, à la fois spécifique et complémentaire, dans le développement de la vie culturelle en langue française et, plus largement, de la francophonie au Manitoba. Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz

François Lentz a œuvré pendant de nombreuses années dans le domaine de l'enseignement du français à Winnipeg et dans d'autres villes du monde, sous différentes formes : formation professionnelle, enseignement universitaire, animation pédagogique, recherche, élaboration de programmes d'études, etc. Il a été président du Conseil d'administration de l'Alliance française du Manitoba de 1999 à 2001 et est membre du comité du centenaire de l'organisme. Il a également été président du conseil d'administration de la Maison Gabrielle-Roy de 2009 à 2013 et membre, de 2008 à 2014, du bureau de direction du Centre d'études franco-canadiennes de l'Ouest, logé à l'Université de Saint-Boniface, auprès duquel il est désormais collaborateur.

Huguette Le Gall a travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans dans le domaine des communications, à Radio-Canada Manitoba où elle a occupé différents postes, dont celui de gestionnaire des relations publiques et du marketing. Traductrice de formation, elle a été copropriétaire et éditrice en chef des Éditions des Plaines de 2008 à 2013 et y est actuellement éditrice pigiste. Elle a siégé à divers conseils d’administration œuvrant dans le domaine des arts et du patrimoine : le conseil qui a mis sur pied la Maison Gabrielle-Roy, le conseil qui a créé la Maison des artistes visuels francophones. Elle a été présidente des Amis de Gabrielle Roy et a initié le Circuit littéraire de Gabrielle Roy. Elle a siégé à diverses reprises au conseil d’administration de l’Alliance française du Manitoba dont elle est actuellement la présidente depuis 2010, ainsi que présidente du comité du centenaire formé d’anciens présidents de l’institution.

Conférence de Liliane Rodriguez:
   « Breton? Poirette? Canard? »

mercredi 18 mars à 12h30, salle 4M46 (4e étage, Manitoba Hall)
@ l'University de Winnipeg,
515
Avenue Portage
L'Université de Winnipeg Liliane Rodriguez
Liliane Rodriguez est professeure à l’Université de Winnipeg. Elle étudie depuis plus de trente ans la langue française au Canada. Elle est l'auteure du premier livre consacré au français de l'Ouest, Mots d'hier, mots d'aujourd'hui (Éditions des plaines, 1984), de plusieurs autres ouvrages (La langue française au Manitoba (Canada): histoire et évolution lexicométrique, Tübingen, Niemeyer, 2006) et d'une centaine de publications, dont «Le rôle du Godefroy dans la description du français au Canada» (Frédéric Godefroy, F. Duval (Éd), Paris, Ecole des Chartes, 2003). Ses recherches portent sur la variation linguistique, le bilinguisme, la traduction, les langues minoritaires et la langue des jeunes dans les communautés rurales du Manitoba.
Qu'est-ce que la géolinguistique? Répondre à cette question, c'est d'abord rappeler que la langue n'est pas uniforme: elle chatoie de «variations» dialectales et topolectales, que nous illustrerons par des mots courants, historiques ou néologiques, en usage aujourd'hui au Canada ou en France. La géolinguistique, c'est aussi un domaine linguistique français, apparu au XVIIIe siècle, et qui a pris son essor au tournant du XXe siècle, par des enquêtes de terrain de grande envergure. Ses pionniers, de l'Abbé Grégoire, en France, au Canadien Gaston Dulong, méritent d'être connus car, au-delà de leurs apports considérables en théorie linguistique, leurs travaux ont enrichi le patrimoine culturel français des deux côtés de l'Atlantique.

Conférence d'Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz :
   « Les 100 ans  de l'Alliance française du Manitoba :
une histoire à raconter »

Mercredi 4 mars 2015 à 11h30,
@ Université de Saint Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale

L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Huguette Le Gall et François Lentz
La conférence retracera l'histoire de l'Alliance française du Manitoba, en présentant les diverses facettes de ses activités depuis sa fondation en 1915; cet historique s'appuiera sur des extraits d'articles des journaux qui ont largement relayé les activités de l'Alliance durant toutes ces années. Raconter cette histoire, c'est mettre en évidence le rayonnement, de plus en plus large au fil des années, de l'organisme; c'est aussi faire valoir le rôle de l'Alliance française, à la fois spécifique et complémentaire, dans le développement de la vie culturelle en langue française et, plus largement, de la francophonie au Manitoba.

François Lentz a œuvré pendant de nombreuses années dans le domaine de l'enseignement du français à Winnipeg et dans d'autres villes du monde, sous différentes formes : formation professionnelle, enseignement universitaire, animation pédagogique, recherche, élaboration de programmes d'études, etc. Il a été président du Conseil d'administration de l'Alliance française du Manitoba de 1999 à 2001 et est membre du comité du centenaire de l'organisme. Il a également été président du conseil d'administration de la Maison Gabrielle-Roy de 2009 à 2013 et membre, de 2008 à 2014, du bureau de direction du Centre d'études franco-canadiennes de l'Ouest, logé à l'Université de Saint-Boniface, auprès duquel il est désormais collaborateur.

Huguette Le Gall a travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans dans le domaine des communications, à Radio-Canada Manitoba où elle a occupé différents postes, dont celui de gestionnaire des relations publiques et du marketing. Traductrice de formation, elle a été copropriétaire et éditrice en chef des Éditions des Plaines de 2008 à 2013 et y est actuellement éditrice pigiste. Elle a siégé à divers conseils d’administration œuvrant dans le domaine des arts et du patrimoine : le conseil qui a mis sur pied la Maison Gabrielle-Roy, le conseil qui a créé la Maison des artistes visuels francophones. Elle a été présidente des Amis de Gabrielle Roy et a initié le Circuit littéraire de Gabrielle Roy. Elle a siégé à diverses reprises au conseil d’administration de l’Alliance française du Manitoba dont elle est actuellement la présidente depuis 2010, ainsi que présidente du comité du centenaire formé d’anciens présidents de l’institution.

Conférence de Jacqueline Blay :
   « L’Association d'éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba, 52 ans de secret de Polichinelle »

Mardi 10 fevrier 2015 à 11h30, salle 0615, Pavillion Marcel-Desautels,
@ Université de Saint Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale (Conférences du midi de l'ACFAS-Manitoba)

L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Lise Gaboury-Diallo
Jacqueline Blay est historienne et l’auteur de quatre livres sur l’Histoire du Manitoba français. Détentrice d’une maîtrise en histoire canadienne, elle a été journaliste et réalisatrice à Radio-Canada, fonctionnaire au gouvernement du Manitoba et enseigne à l’Université de Saint-Boniface un cours sur l’Histoire du Manitoba français et métis. Elle a reçu les prix Réseau (1988), et Riel (2014), ainsi que le Prix Champlain (2011 et 2014) pour ses ouvrages. Elle prépare présentement le troisième tome de l’Histoire du Manitoba français, de Gabrielle Roy à Daniel Lavoie (1916-1968).
Pendant 52 ans, l’Association d'éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba a porté à bout de bras le projet identitaire du Manitoba français, grâce à un réseau d’établissements scolaires contrôlés par et pour les francophones. De 1916 à 1968, l’Association représente auprès des gouvernements les intentions, les projets et les espoirs de survivance du Manitoba français en mettant en œuvre le projet de Résistance, tel qu’énoncé par le congrès de fondation de 1916. Avec l’appui du clergé catholique, les prêtres de paroisses et les religieuses de congrégations, les enseignantes laïques dévouées au point de l’abnégation parfois, l’Association atteint son but : que 50 ans après sa fondation, il y ait encore des francophones au Manitoba. Pour y parvenir, elle doit composer avec des inspecteurs scolaires, parfois un peu trop zélés, des projets de lois, qui mettent en danger leurs divisions scolaires et avec les effets de deux guerres mondiales et d’une Dépression économique sans précédent. En continuant à enseigner en français, en semi-clandestinité, l’Association illustre la résilience de la minorité francophone.

Conférence de Lise Gaboury-Diallo :
   « La littérature franco-manitobaine : un état des lieux »

Mardi 20 janvier 2015 à 11h45 @ Université de Saint Boniface,
200 avenue de la Cathédrale (Conférences du midi de l'ACFAS-Manitoba)

L'Univesité de Saint-Boniface     Association francophone pour le savoir Lise Gaboury-Diallo
Née à Saint-Boniface, Lise Gaboury-Diallo est professeure de langue française et des littératures francophones à l’Université de Saint-Boniface. Elle est l’auteure de nombreux articles critiques, de nouvelles et textes divers, dont 4 recueils de poésie : Subliminales (1999), transitions (2002), Poste restante : cartes poétiques du Sénégal (2005) et Homestead, poèmes du cœur de l’Ouest (2005), œuvre pour laquelle elle a remporté le premier prix, catégorie poésie française, des Prix littéraires Radio-Canada 2004.