courts de tristesse

Evening of artistic performances

April 30th, 2015 at 7:30 PM

@ La Maison des Artistes
219 boulevard Provencher


in partnership with

“Sit down, please! Today’s lesson is about sadness, which is recyclable matter and an inexhaustible resource. Let’s start with a presentation of short films, in order to refresh your memories. Then, Rhayne Vermette will demonstrate that sadness can be grafted on the reel. Watch out! Even if you turn off the sound, Yvan Lecuyer, Eric Plamondon and Jane Tesser will prove to you that sadness is boundless. By the way, when the bell rings, you still won’t be done, as Damien Ferland will switch to VHS-mixing mode for recess.”

“Courts de tristesse” is an evening of artistic performances based on francophone short films, presented on the occasion of the inauguration of the group exhibition “Sadness is the fifth state of matter”.

les artistes

rhayne vermette

Rhayne Vermette is a Winnipeg artist. She is the successor of the MB Cold Storage Co. The company, through her influence concerns itself mostly with the preservation of film and of photographic content that underlines the "qualities of starving artists" of Winnipeg. While these works stay in Winnipeg, her experimental films have travelled to various places around the world (Chicago Underground Film Festival, Images, European Media Arts Festival, Melbourne International Animation Festival).

Her performance will be based on concepts found in the art of Marcel Duchamps. Staged on a drawing board, this performance/installation explores the personal struggles with desire and notions of a cinematographic approach as architectural drawing. Rhayne intends to use 16mm projections of drawings, by means of overhead, which will be her artistic offering.

rhayne's other projects

visit Rhayne Vermette's Vimeo profile

Black Rectangle - animation, 16mm

Scene Missing - animation, 16mm

Les Châssis de Lourdes - trailer, experimental documentary

damien ferland

A graduate of the University of Winnipeg film program in 2005, Damien Ferland has since directed and produced many short films and videos, which have screened internationally.

Damien will present a VHS mix of images from classic and groundbreaking French films that deal with what he finds seem to share a theme of the danger of extreme ideals, and the loneliness faced by the characters affected.

courts de tristesse

Soirée de performances artistiques

le 30 avril 2015 à 19h30

@ La Maison des Artistes
219 boulevard Provencher


en partenariat avec

« Asseyez-vous, je vous en prie! La leçon d’aujourd’hui porte sur la tristesse, matière recyclable, ressource inépuisable. Commençons par une présentation de courts métrages, histoire de vous rafraîchir un peu la mémoire. Ensuite, Rhayne Vermette vous démontrera que la tristesse peut se greffer sur pellicule. Attention! Même si vous coupez le son, Yvan Lecuyer, Eric Plamondon et Jane Tesser vous prouveront que la tristesse est intarissable. D’ailleurs, au son de la cloche, vous n’en aurez toujours pas fini avec elle, car Damien Ferland se mettra en mode VHS-mixing pour la récré. »

« Courts de tristesse » est une soirée de performances artistiques à partir de courts métrages francophones, présentée à l’occasion de l’inauguration de l’exposition collective « La tristesse est le cinquième état de la matière ».

les artistes

rhayne vermette

Rhayne Vermette est un artiste de Winnipeg. Elle est le successeur du MB Cold Storage Co. La compagnie, sous l'influence de Vermette, s'intéresse principalement à la préservation du film et contenu photographique qui soulignent les " qualités d'artistes affamés" de Winnipeg. Ces œuvres artistiques restent logés à Winnipeg - mais ses films expérimentaux ont traversé de nombreux lieux à travers le monde (Chicago Underground Film Festival, Images, European Media Arts Festival, Melbourne International Animation Festival).

L'idée de cette performance est basée sur des concepts trouvé dans l'art de Marcel Duchamps. Articulée sur la stade d'une planche à dessin, cette performance/installation explore des luttes personelles avec le desire et des notions d'un approche cinématographique comme un dessin architectural. Rhayne a l'intention d'utiliser des projection 16mm et des projections de dessins (par overhead) qui seront projetées come proposition.

d'autres projets de rhayne

visitez le profil de Rhayne Vermette sur Vimeo

Black Rectangle - animation, 16mm

Scene Missing - animation, 16mm

Les Châssis de Lourdes - trailer , documentaire expérimental

damien ferland

Finissant du programme de film à l'Université de Winnipeg de 2005, Damien a depuis réalisé plusieurs courts-métrages et vidéos, projetés sur la scène internationale.

Damien nous propose un mix VHS d'images de films français classiques et révolutionnaires qui, d'après lui, partagent le thème du danger des idéaux extrémistes, et de la solitude à laquelle les personnages affectés font face.