Announcement:

New DVD Releases For March!

Amazonia Chinese Puzzle Stranger by the Lake The Last of The Unjust Tom à la ferme Venus in Fur

Amazonia

An adventure for the whole family! After a plane crash, a capuchin monkey born and raised in captivity finds himself alone and lost in the wilderness of the Amazon jungle. Unprepared, the little monkey feels helpless with this sudden freedom. He finds himself face to face with all types of forest animals: jaguars, crocodiles, boas, tapirs, giant otters... He soon understands that finding fellow capuchin monkeys and being adopted by them may be his only hope for survival.

Chinese Puzzle

Xavier returns to the screen along with Wendy, Isabelle and Martine 15 years after L’Auberge espagnole and 10 years since Russian Dolls. Xavier still hasn’t really settled down and if anything, his life looks like it’s getting even more complicated. He has two kids now, and his thirst for travel has brought him to New York, in the heart of Chinatown. Xavier is trying to carve out a place for himself as a son, as a father, and as a man in general but his life is like a Chinese puzzle!

Stranger by the Lake

One of the most critically acclaimed films of the year, Stranger by the lake has been described as a modern-day Hitchcockian masterpiece. A picturesque cruising spot in the countryside of France sets the scene between desire and murder. Franck, a regular at the lake, meets the handsome Michel and soon falls in love with the mysterious stranger. When a body is discovered in the lake, Franck and Michel soon become primary suspects of the investigation. Stranger by the Lake is a unique, erotic thriller of seduction and sexual obsession that builds to an unforgettable and terrifying climax.

Last of the Unjust

Three decades after his cinematic landmark, Shoah, Claude Lanzmann once again reorients our understanding of the Holocaust. The Last of the Unjust is built around extended interviews with Rabbi Benjamin Murmelstein, the last surviving Jewish elder of Theresienstadt (the so-called “model” ghetto) and a divisive figure among the camp’s surviving inhabitants. Intercut with footage of Lanzmann himself revisiting specific sites in Vienna and the Czech Republic, the gregarious Murmelstein – recanting his “testimony” in German – gives over the unique harrowing perspective of an ordained Jew who worked for the Waffen SS and the notorious Adolf Eichmann. Murmelstein makes for a compelling paradox, leaving us to debate, rather than judge, his role in the madness of the time.

Tom à la ferme

Tom, a young adman, travels to the country for a funeral. There, he’s shocked to find out no one knows who he is, nor who he was to the deceased, whose brother soon sets the rules of a twisted game. In order to protect the family’s name and grieving mother, Tom now has to play the peace-keeper in a household whose obscure past bodes even greater darkness for his “trip” to the farm.

Venus in fur

Alone in a Parisian theatre after a day of auditioning actresses, Thomas is complaining over the phone about the lack of quality auditions. He is getting ready to leave when Vanda appears. She embodies everything Thomas hates and will stop at nothing to get the part. But when Thomas finds himself backed into a corner, he lets her try her luck and is amazed to see Vanda transformed. The “audition” lengthens and intensifies, and Thomas’s attraction starts to develop into an obsession...

You may also be interested in...

New DVDs for October New DVDs for December Nouveautés DVD pour septembre Nouveautés DVD pour septembre NEW DVDs FOR SEPTEMBER Mano Solo - Allô Paris
listen read Our media centre - Watch

Annonce:

Nouveautés DVD pour mars!

Amazonia Casse-tête chinois L'inconnu du lac Le dernier des injustes Tom à la ferme La Vénus à la fourrure

Amazonia

Une aventure pour toute la famille! À la suite d’un accident d’avion, un jeune singe capucin né en captivité se retrouve seul et désemparé au cœur de la forêt amazonienne. Sans repères et confronté aux mille et un périls de l’immensité verte, il lui faudra s’adapter à cet univers inconnu. Héros d’une extraordinaire aventure qui lui fera affronter non seulement ses semblables mais aussi des prédateurs redoutables, des végétaux toxiques et l’Amazone en crue, il va entamer un long voyage qui lui permettra de découvrir enfin sa seule chance de survie : une place parmi les siens…

Casse-tête chinois

On retrouve Xavier avec Wendy, Isabelle et Martine quinze ans après l’Auberge espagnole et dix ans après Les poupées russes. La vie de Xavier ne s’est pas forcément rangée et tout semble même devenir de plus en plus compliqué. Désormais père de deux enfants, il se retrouve cette fois à New York, au beau milieu de Chinatown. Xavier y cherche sa place en tant que fils, en tant que père… en tant qu’homme en fait! La vie de Xavier tien résolument du casse-tête chinois!

L'inconnu du lac

Un des films les plus acclamés de l'année, L'Inconnu du lac, décrit comme un chef-d'œuvre hitchcockien moderne, met en scène le désir et le meurtre sur un lieu de drague pittoresque de la campagne de française. Franck, un habitué du lac, rencontre le beau Michel et tombe rapidement amoureux du mystérieux étranger. Quand un corps est découvert dans le lac, Franck et Michel deviennent rapidement les principaux suspects de l'enquête. L'Inconnu du lac est un thriller érotique unique sur la séduction et l’obsession sexuelle qui se termine en une apogée inoubliable et terrifiante.

Le dernier des injustes

Trois décennies après son monument cinématographique, Shoah, Claude Lanzmann nous invite à repenser une fois de l'Holocauste. Le Dernier des injustes est basé sur des entretiens approfondis avec le rabbin Benjamin Murmelstein – le dernier survivant aîné juif de Theresienstadt (le soi-disant ghetto «modèle») et une figure de discorde parmi les survivants des habitants du camp. Entrecoupé d’images de Lanzmann, revisitant lui-même des sites spécifiques de Vienne et de la République tchèque, le grégaire Murmelstein - relatant son «témoignage» en allemand - donne la perspective unique d'un religieux Juif qui a travaillé pour la Waffen SS et pour le tristement célèbre Adolf Eichmann. Murmelstein en fait un paradoxe convaincant, nous laissant débattre, plutôt que juger son rôle dans la folie de l’air du temps.

Tom à la ferme

Un jeune publicitaire voyage jusqu’au fin fond de la campagne pour des funérailles, et constate que personne n’y connaît son nom, ni la nature de sa relation avec le défunt. Lorsque le frère aîné de celui-ci lui impose un jeu de rôles malsain visant à protéger sa mère et l’honneur de leur famille, une relation toxique s’amorce qui n’aura de cesse que la vérité éclate enfin, quelles qu’en soient les conséquences.

LaVénus à la fourrure

Seul dans un théâtre parisien après une journée passée à auditionner des comédiennes, Thomas se lamente au téléphone sur la piètre performance des candidates. Il se prépare à partir lorsque Vanda surgit. Elle incarne tout ce que Thomas déteste et elle ne reculerait devant rien pour obtenir le rôle. Un peu contraint et forcé, Thomas la laisse tenter sa chance et c’est avec stupéfaction qu’il voit Vanda se métamorphoser. Alors que l’« audition » se prolonge et redouble d’intensité, l’attraction de Thomas se mue en obsession…

D'autres options

New DVDs for October Nouveautés DVD pour septembre Nouveautés DVD pour septembre Nouveautés DVD pour septembre New movies for April! Nouveautés DVD pour septembre
Ecouter Lire Regarder