Spoken Word Project

Alliance Française du Manitoba's SPOKEN WORD PROJECT series is a regular event offering an open mic to all: francophones, anglophones, franglophones, whatever floats your boat! Come share your words in French and/or English and/or any language you wish to use, and help us build a strong community of poets. Bring your voice and your instruments, we'll be there to listen.

About Projet Spoken Word Project

The Project was launched during the 2015-2016 season by the Alliance Française du Manitoba and was led by Léonore Bailhache and Rob Malo, with the goal of supporting slam and poetry creation in Winnipeg, no matter what language poets wish to use! The evenings were hosted by Rob Malo.

For the second season, in 2016-2017, Amber O’Reilly took on the role of host! The last event of the season, the 2016-2017 Projet Spoken Word Project Dernière was organized in collaboration with the Centre culturel franco-manitobain and Éditions du Blé. Author Lise Gaboury-Diallo was the ambassador of the event and launched her new book Empreintes, a collection of poems, and read a few of her texts.

 

Our complete SPOKEN WORD PROJECT listing

SPOKEN WORD #2 - season 2018-2019

SPOKEN WORD #2 - season 2018-2019
 | Maison Gabrielle-Roy
Published

Come share your words in any language you wish to use, and help us build a strong community of poets.

Bring your voice and your instruments, we'll be there to listen.

In 2018-2019, the host is Amber O’Reilly, a multilingual spoken word artist and poet. Born under Yellowknife’s midnight sun, she has lived in Winnipeg since 2013. Amber has performed at Northwords NWT, Speaking Crow, Winnipeg Poetry Slam, Winnipeg Fringe Festival, Thin Air and the Canadian Festival of Spoken Word and published in the Winnipeg Free Press, L'Aquilon and Oratorealis. She writes theatre reviews for La Liberté and is a board member of the Association des auteur-e-s du Manitoba français and Thin Air, Winnipeg International Writers Festival.

This second edition of the 18/19 Spoken Word will take place at the Maison Gabrielle-Roy, on 375 Rue Deschambault.
Entrance is free and open to all.

SPOKEN WORD #1 - season 2018-2019

SPOKEN WORD #1 - season 2018-2019
 | Alliance Française du Manitoba
Published

Come share your words in any language you wish to use, and help us build a strong community of poets.

Bring your voice and your instruments, we'll be there to listen.

In 2018-2019, the host is Amber O’Reilly, a multilingual spoken word artist and poet. Born under Yellowknife’s midnight sun, she has lived in Winnipeg since 2013. Amber has performed at Northwords NWT, Speaking Crow, Winnipeg Poetry Slam, Winnipeg Fringe Festival, Thin Air and the Canadian Festival of Spoken Word and published in the Winnipeg Free Press, L'Aquilon and Oratorealis. She writes theatre reviews for La Liberté and is a board member of the Association des auteur-e-s du Manitoba français and Thin Air, Winnipeg International Writers Festival.

This first edition of the 18/19 Spoken Word will take place at the Alliance française du Manitoba, on 934 Corydon.
Entrance is free and open to all.

PROJET Spoken Word Project

Le PROJET SPOKEN WORD PROJECT de l'Alliance Française du Manitoba est une série de soirées dédiées au Spoken Word offrant une scène et un micro ouverts à tous: francophones, anglophones, franglophones...! Venez partager vos mots en français et/ou en anglais et/ou dans n'importe quelle langue, et contribuez ainsi à construire une communauté de poètes. Apportez votre voix et votre instrument, nous serons là pour vous écouter.

À propos du Projet Spoken Word Project

Le projet a démarré en 2015 sous les auspices de l'Alliance Française du Manitoba. Léonore Bailhache et Rob Malo, jeunes poètes bilingues de Winnipeg, avaient eu l'idée de monter une scéne de slam et de poèsie multilingue. Les premières soirées étaient animées par Rob Malo.

Depuis la seconde saison en 2016, l'animation a été confiée à Amber O'Reilly. Une saison comprend en général trois soirées entre novembre et avril. La première soirée a lieu à l'Alliance Française, la seconde à la Maison Gabrielle-Roy et la dernière au Centre Culturel Franco-Manitobain. Les Editions du Blé s'associent régulièrement au projet, proposant à des poètes et auteurs confirmés de devenir ambassadeurs de la soirée finale: Lise Gaboury-Diallo en 2017 et Rhéal Cénérini en 2018 nous ont fait l'honneur de célébrer avec la communauté Spoken Word.

 

La programmation complète Spoken Word

SPOKEN WORD #2 - saison 2018-2019

SPOKEN WORD #2 - saison 2018-2019
 | Maison Gabrielle-Roy
Published

Nous offrons une scène ouverte et ouverte à tous: francophones, anglophones, franglophones, et autres. Venez partager vos mots en français et/ou en anglais et/ou toute autre langue de votre choix et aidez-nous à construire une véritable communauté de poètes. 

Apportez votre voix et vos instruments et nous serons là pour vous écouter et claquer des doigts!

L'animatrice de la saison 2018-2019, poète et artiste de spoken word multilingue, Amber O'Reilly est née à Yellowknife et demeure à Winnipeg depuis 2013. Amber a partagé ses textes à NorthWords NWT, Speaking Crow, Winnipeg Poetry Slam, le Winnipeg Fringe Festival, Livres en fête et le Festival canadien de spoken word et dans l’Aquilon, le Winnipeg Free Press et Oratorealis. Elle rédige les critiques théâtrales de La Liberté et siège aux CA de l'Association des auteur-e-s du Manitoba français et du Festival international des écrivains de Winnipeg.

Cette seconde édition du Spoken Word 2018-2019 se déroulera à la Maison Gabrielle-Roy, au 375 Rue Deschambault.
L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à toutes et à tous.

SPOKEN WORD #1 - saison 2018-2019

SPOKEN WORD #1 - saison 2018-2019
 | Alliance Française du Manitoba
Published

Nous offrons une scène ouverte et ouverte à tous: francophones, anglophones, franglophones, et autres. Venez partager vos mots en français et/ou en anglais et/ou toute autre langue de votre choix et aidez-nous à construire une véritable communauté de poètes. 

Apportez votre voix et vos instruments et nous serons là pour vous écouter et claquer des doigts!

L'animatrice de la saison 2018-2019, poète et artiste de spoken word multilingue, Amber O'Reilly est née à Yellowknife et demeure à Winnipeg depuis 2013. Amber a partagé ses textes à NorthWords NWT, Speaking Crow, Winnipeg Poetry Slam, le Winnipeg Fringe Festival, Livres en fête et le Festival canadien de spoken word et dans l’Aquilon, le Winnipeg Free Press et Oratorealis. Elle rédige les critiques théâtrales de La Liberté et siège aux CA de l'Association des auteur-e-s du Manitoba français et du Festival international des écrivains de Winnipeg.

Cette première édition du Spoken Word 2018-2019 se déroulera à l'Alliance française du Manitoba, au 934 Corydon.
L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à toutes et à tous.