Night of ideas - CANADA, January 28, 2021

Annual gathering dedicated to the free circulation of ideas and knowledge, the 6th edition of the Night of Ideas, coordinated in Canada by the French Embassy, in partnership with the Alliances françaises and many Canadian cultural and academic institutions, will be held on Thursday, January 28, 2021 on the topic «Close(r)». This event, which encourages, in 75 countries on the 5 continents, exchange and global collective reflection, is this year entirely virtual.

The theme «Close(r)» at the heart of the Night of Ideas 2021 allows us to question the transformation of our relationship to space and mobility, the new forms of solidarity that the crisis in our economic and social models calls for, and the place of digital technology in our societies, which is increasingly shaping our relationship with the world. From the themes of new technologies and digital, to Aboriginal peoples, reinvented art and Artificial Intelligence, the 2021 edition of the Night of Ideas in Canada will take on a special significance in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.

All these events will be virtual and accessible for free on the Youtube channel of the Night of Ideas in Canada and on the Facebook page of the Consulate General of France in Quebec for the Quebec section. From coast to coast, more than 24 hours of debates, conversations and artistic performances will be accessible to all, on January 28th, from 8:45 am to 12 midnight (CST).

Watch the Night of Ideas - Canada Watch the Night of Ideas - Canada


Free of charge, online and live on social networks, the Night of Ideas in Canada will consist in 24 events, across the country, from Halifax to Vancouver, Moncton, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Calgary and Victoria, 14 Canadian cities in all.

The Night of Ideas in Canada offers a rich and diverse program: debates, conversations and interdisciplinary meetings, as well as artistic performances, comic book improvisation and film debates.

It will bring together many inspiring, daring and committed Canadian and French figures, such as Canadian writers John Ralston Saul, Kim Thuy, Charles Montgomery, Innu poet Josephine Bacon and French science-fiction writer Alain Damasio.

The debates will be interspersed with performances by Canadian and French artists such as French graphic designer Dalkhafine, Canadian rock band Hologramme or French dance company Les Parleuses.

PROGRAM BY CITY IN CANADA

WINNIPEG -  Indigenous perspectives on Nature

Following the sharing that took place during The Night of Ideas 2020 around the theme “Being alive”, the Alliance française du Manitoba has decided to deal with the theme «Close(r)» through the lens of what we identify as otherness and to question the proximity between countries, and between humans and animal and plant species.

In the context of a global pandemic, where Humanity feels fragile and vulnerable, Humans are questioning themselves. They worry about their health, question their rights and wonder about their place in and relationship with Nature. As part of Night of Ideas organized on 28 January 2021, the Alliance française du Manitoba invites you to revisit these questions through the inspiring and calming wisdom of Indigenous cultures.

Learn more...

MONCTON - Reinventing links through digital technology - learn more...

HALIFAX - "Perfect distance" between humans and things - learn more...

TROIS-RIVIÈRES - I am elsewhere, the center is here - learn more...

MONTREAL - "Humanity in Proximity" - learn more...

QUÉBEC-LÉVIS - "Distance as an engine of creation" - learn more...

CHICOUTIMI - "Rethinking otherness & social structures" - learn more...

SHERBROOKE - When Artists and Scientists Come Together - learn more...

OTTAWA - So far so near - learn more...

TORONTO - Rapprochement(s) - learn more...

CALGARY - EDMONTON - Let's walk at night - learn more...

VANCOUVER - New solidarities - learn more...

VICTORIA - Sharing Isolation: Cultures and Memories to Bounce Back Together - learn more...


Our partners:









You may also be interested in...

Cinéma Sous les Etoiles 2021 Makemusic2021 Blues Night of Ideas 2019 Dictée Gabrielle Roy 2019 dictee gabrielle roy 2021
Calendar (En) Past Events Recurring Special Events

La Nuit Des IdeEs - CANADA, le 28 janvier 2021

Rendez-vous annuel consacré à la libre circulation des idées et des savoirs, la 6ème édition de la Nuit des Idées, coordonnée au Canada par l’Ambassade de France, en partenariat avec les Alliances françaises et de nombreuses institutions culturelles et universitaires canadiennes, se tiendra le jeudi 28 janvier 2021 sur le thème « Proches ». Cet événement qui encourage, dans 75 pays sur les 5 continents, l’échange et la réflexion collective mondiale, est cette année, entièrement virtuel.

Le thème « Proches » au cœur de la Nuit des idées 2021 permet d’interroger la transformation de nos rapports à l’espace et aux mobilités, les nouvelles solidarités que la crise de nos modèles économiques et sociaux appelle à construire, ou encore la place du numérique dans nos sociétés, qui façonne de plus en plus notre rapport au monde. De la thématique des nouvelles technologies et du numérique, à celle des Autochtones, de l’art réinventé ou de l’intelligence Artificielle, l’édition 2021 de la Nuit des Idées au Canada prendra un relief particulier dans le sillage de la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Tous ces évènements seront virtuels et accessibles gratuitement sur la chaine Youtube de la Nuit des Idées au Canada et sur la page Facebook du Consulat général de France à Québec pour le volet québécois. Ainsi d’une côte à l’autre, ce seront plus de 24h de débats, conversations et performances artistiques qui seront accessibles à tous, le jeudi 28 janvier, de 8h45 du matin à minuit (HNC).

Visionner La Nuit des Idées - Canada Visionner La Nuit des Idées - Canada


Gratuite, en ligne et en direct sur les réseaux sociaux, la Nuit des Idées au Canada se déclinera en 24 évènements, aux quatre coins du pays, d’Halifax à Vancouver, en passant par Moncton, Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Calgary ou Victoria, 14 villes canadiennes au total.

La Nuit des Idées au Canada propose une programmation riche et diverse : débats d’idées, conversations et rencontres interdisciplinaires, mais aussi performances artistiques, impro bande-dessinée ou débats cinématographiques.

Elle rassemblera de nombreuses personnalités canadiennes et françaises inspirantes, audacieuses et engagées, telles que les écrivains canadiens John Ralston Saul, Kim Thuy, Charles Montgomery, la poétesse innue Joséphine Bacon ou l’écrivain de science-fiction français Alain Damasio.

Les débats seront entrecoupés par des performances d’artistes canadiens et français tels que la graphiste française Dalkhafine, le groupe de rock canadien Hologramme ou la compagnie de danse française Les Parleuses.  

PROGRAMMATION DES VILLES AU CANADA

WINNIPEG – Regards autochtones sur la Nature

Dans la continuité des échanges noués lors de la Nuit des idées 2020 autour du thème " Être vivant ", l'Alliance française du Manitoba a décidé de traité le thème " Proches " sous le prisme de ce que nous identifions comme des altérités et de questionner les proximités entre pays, entre l’homme et les espèces animales et végétales.

Dans un contexte de pandémie mondiale où l’Humain se sent fragilisé et vulnérable, l’Humain se questionne. Il s’inquiète de sa santé, se questionne sur ses droits et s’interroge sur sa place et son rapport avec la Nature. Dans le cadre de La Nuit des Idées organisée le 28 janvier 2021, l'Alliance française du Manitoba vous proposera de revisiter ces interrogations à travers les regards inspirants et apaisants de la sagesse des cultures Autochtones.

Learn more...

MONCTON – Réinventer les liens par le numérique - en savoir plus...

HALIFAX – « Distance parfaite » entre humains et choses - en savoir plus...

TROIS-RIVIÈRES - Je est ailleurs, le centre est ici - en savoir plus...

MONTRÉAL - « L’humanité dans la proximité » - en savoir plus...

QUÉBEC-LÉVIS - « La distance comme moteur de création » - en savoir plus...

CHICOUTIMI - « Repenser l’altérité & les structures sociales » - en savoir plus...

SHERBROOKE - Quand artistes et scientifiques se rapprochent - en savoir plus...

OTTAWA – Si loin si proches - en savoir plus...

TORONTO – Rapprochement(s) - en savoir plus...

CALGARY – EDMONTON – Promenons-nous de nuit - en savoir plus...

VANCOUVER – Nouvelles solidarités - en savoir plus...

VICTORIA – Partages de l’isolement : cultures et souvenirs pour rebondir ensemble - en savoir plus...


Nos partenaires:









D'autres options

Le mois de la Science Cinéma Sous les Etoiles 2021 Cinéma Sous les Etoiles 2021 Makemusic2021 Véronique Kanor & Tyler Pennock en résidence Blues
Évènements passés Recurring Special Events Calendrier d'évènements Membership Card