Night of Ideas of the Alliance française du Manitoba
Indigenous perspectives on nature


Following the sharing that took place during The Night of Ideas 2020 around the theme “Being alive”, the Alliance française du Manitoba has decided to deal with the theme «Close(r)» through the lens of what we identify as otherness and to question the proximity between countries, and between humans and animal and plant species.

In the context of a global pandemic, where Humanity feels fragile and vulnerable, Humans are questioning themselves. They worry about their health, question their rights and wonder about their place in and relationship with Nature. As part of Night of Ideas organized on 28 January 2021, the Alliance française du Manitoba invites you to revisit these questions through the inspiring and calming wisdom of Indigenous cultures.
Our program contains 3 sections:

Watch the Night of Ideas - Manitoba, from 6 PM

Section 1: Cultural approach of Aboriginal medicine, in partnership with CBC and University of Manitoba

Most societies' medical approach is often supported by evidence-based research and points of view specific to so-called "Western" research. Nevertheless, for Canada Indigenous people, the medical approach is rooted in nature where "cultural" healing strategies address the special relationship to language, traditions, and the land. During this round table, the indigenous cultural approach history, the differences with the western one and their integration into health policy will be discussed with Dr. Marcia ANDERSON and nurse Melanie MACKINNON.

Guests / moderator :

Dr. Marcia ANDERSON

Vice-Dean, Indigenous Health
Executive Director of Indigenous Academic Affairs in the Ongomiizwin Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Melanie MACKINNON

Nurse
Executive Director of Indigenous Health Services in the Ongomiizwin Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Jean-Eric GHIA

Moderator
Honorary Consul of France in Winnipeg
Associate Professor
Director, Gastrointestinal Basic Biology Research, IBD Clinical & Research Centre, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Section 2: "Spirit Panel Project" in partnership with the Canadian Museum for Human Rights

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights and the National Association of Friendship Centres invited Elders, artists, and youth from First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities to come together to explore what human rights and responsibilities mean. The Elders engaged the youth in sharing circles about human rights and responsibilities from Aboriginal perspectives.

Section 3: About the Film "Call Me Human"


WATCH FOR FREE a film "Call Me Human" directed by Kim O'BOMSAWIN

“Sauvage,” says Joséphine Bacon, “means to be wholly free.” When elders leave us, a link to the past vanishes along with them. Innu writer Joséphine Bacon exemplifies a generation that is bearing witness to a time that will soon have passed away. With charm and diplomacy, she leads a charge against the loss of a language, a culture, and its traditions. On the trail of Papakassik, the master of the caribou, Call Me Human proposes a foray into a people’s multimillennial history, in company with a woman of great spirit who has devoted her life to passing on her knowledge and that of her ancestors. In her language, Innu means “human.”


This film will be available online for FREE from January 25 to January 31, 2021




Watch the film for free





Section 4: About the Film "Call Me Human"


After watching the film, we offer you an intimate meeting with a poet Josephine BACON, central figure of the film "Call Me Human", where her perspective on her relationship with nature and the spirit of the living creatures will be discussed.






To conclude the event Nuit of Ideas of Winnipeg, we will rebroadcast a round table FOCUS organized by our partner Centre Culturel Franco-Manitobain, where the poet Josephine Bacon and the film director Kim O’Bomsawin were present.



For the complete program of the Night of Ideas - CANADA,
click here.

For watching the film "Call Me Human", click here.


Our partners:









You may also be interested in...

Blues Plug In ICA Presents: Daniel Buren Discotheque Film Fest Nuitblanche2016 Beaujolais Nouveau!

La Nuit des Idées de l'Alliance française du Manitoba

Regards autochtones sur la Nature

Dans la continuité des échanges noués lors de la Nuit des idées 2020 autour du thème " Être vivant ", l'Alliance française du Manitoba a décidé de traité le thème " Proches " sous le prisme de ce que nous identifions comme des altérités et de questionner les proximités entre pays, entre l’homme et les espèces animales et végétales.

Dans un contexte de pandémie mondiale où l’Humain se sent fragilisé et vulnérable, l’Humain se questionne. Il s’inquiète de sa santé, se questionne sur ses droits et s’interroge sur sa place et son rapport avec la Nature. Dans le cadre de La Nuit des Idées organisée le 28 janvier 2021, l'Alliance française du Manitoba vous proposera de revisiter ces interrogations à travers les regards inspirants et apaisants de la sagesse des cultures Autochtones.
Notre programme en 3 volets:

Visionner La Nuit des Idées - Manitoba, à partir de 18h

Volet 1: Approche Culturelle de la médecine autochtone, en partenariat avec l'Université du Manitoba et CBC

L’approche médicale de la plupart des sociétés est souvent basée sur des évidences et des points de vue propres à la recherche dite « occidentale. » Néanmoins, au sein de la population autochtone du Canada cette approche médicale prend ses racines dans une proximité de la nature où les stratégies de guérison dites    « culturelles » adressent des relations privilégiées envers le langage, les traditions ainsi que la terre. Au cours de cette table-ronde, en présence du Prof. Marcia ANDERSON et de l’infirmière Mélanie MACKINNON, seront discutés l’historique de l’approche culturelle autochtone, les différences par rapport à l’approche culturelle occidentale, ainsi que leur intégration dans les futures politiques de santé.

Invitées / modérateur :

Dr. Marcia ANDERSON

Vice-doyen de la santé autochtone
Directrice exécutive des affaires universitaires autochtones à l'Institut autochtone de la santé et du bien-être Ongomiizwin, Faculté des Sciences de la santé Rady, Université du Manitoba

Melanie MacKINNON

Infirmière
Directrice exécutive des services de santé indigènes de l'Institut autochtone de la santé et du bien-être Ongomiizwin, Faculté des Sciences de la santé Rady, Université du Manitoba

Jean-Eric GHIA

Modérateur
Consul honoraire de France à Winnipeg
Professeur agrégé
Directeur de la recherche fondamentale en gastroentérologie au Centre de recherche clinique des maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin, Faculté des Sciences de la santé Rady, Université du Manitoba


Volet 2 : Le projet " Panneaux des esprits " en partenariat avec le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne

Le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne et l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié ont invité des aînés, des artistes et des jeunes métis, inuits et des Premières Nations à s’interroger sur le sens des droits et des responsabilités de tous les êtres humains. Les aînés et aînées ont fait participer les jeunes à des cercles de partage où ils ont discuté des responsabilités et des droits de la personne dans la perspective autochtone. 

Volet 3 : Visionner le Film " Je m'appelle humain"


VISIONNER GRATUITEMENT " Je m'appelle humain ", un film de Kim O'BOMSAWIN

« Sauvage » dit Joséphine Bacon, « ça veut dire être libre entièrement. » Lorsque les anciens nous quittent, un lien avec le passé disparaît avec eux. La femme de lettres innue Joséphine Bacon incarne cette génération témoin d’une époque bientôt révolue. Avec charisme et sensibilité, elle mène un combat contre l’oubli et la disparition d’une langue, d’une culture et de ses traditions. Sur les traces de Papakassik, le maître du caribou, Je m’appelle humain propose une incursion dans l’Histoire d’un Peuple multimillénaires aux côtés d’une femme libre qui a consacré sa vie à transmettre son savoir et ce lui de ses ancêtres. Dans sa langue, innu veut dire « humain ».

Ce film sera disponible en visionnage GRATUIT du 25 janvier au 31 janvier 2021.





Visionner le film gratuitement





Volet 4 : Autour du Film " Je m'appelle humain"


Après avoir vu le film, nous vous proposons une rencontre avec la poétesse Joséphine BACON, personnage central du film " Je m'appelle humain " ou nous évoquerons avec elle son regard sur sa relation avec la nature et l'esprit des animaux.




Pour finir la soirée de La Nuit des Idées de Winnipeg, nous redifferons la table ronde organisée par notre partenaire le Centre Culturel Franco-Manitobain avec la présence de la poétesse Joséphine BACON et de la réalisatrice du film Kim O'BOMSAWIN.





Pour le programme complet de la Nuit des Idées au CANADA,
cliquez ici.

Pour le visionnement du film " Je m'appelle humain ", cliquez ici.


Nos partenaires: