Announcement:

La Nuit des idées 2020: Being alive

A global event to celebrate the flow of ideas between countries, cultures, topics, and generations

Program Panelist Biographies

The Alliance Française du Manitoba, in partnership with the Institut Français, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, ICI Manitoba, and CBC Manitoba, will hold the second edition of The Night of Ideas on January 31st 2020, starting 5PM, at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights (85 Israel Asper Way, Winnipeg). On this occasion, the Alliance Française du Manitoba will join the program of Friday Night Rights offered by the Museum.

The Night of Ideas is a free global event initiated by the Institut Français and celebrated around the world in order to celebrate the flow of ideas between countries, cultures, topics and generations. Each year, the Night of ideas gives the opportunity to discover the latest discoveries in knowledge and arts, to listen to the ones who contribute to bring more ideas to their field, and to take part in the discussion about the main issues of our times.

The Night of Ideas 2020 will focus on the theme Being Alive, which will be explored in multiple ways. Two panel discussions will take place simultaneously. One in French, which focus on Arts & Culture. Another one in English will focus on  Innovation & new technologies.

Come meet artists, intellectuals, researchers, and activists for an evening of dynamic and engaging exchanges that highlight contemporary debates in a creative and multidisciplinary way. Do not miss the opportunity to take part in this global event!

Program

Indigenous dance performances:

When: 5:15 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Where: Bonnie & John Buhler Hall, Level 1

Performance by Aboriginal School of Dance
Performance by Ray Coco Stevenson*

French panel discussion: Arts et culture au service du vivant (Art and Culture for Life)

Geneviève Murchison
Téléjournal Manitoba's Geneviève Murchison, host of the French panel discussion
Gabriel Fields
Musician Gabriel Fields

When: 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Where: CMHR, Manitoba Teachers’ Society Classroom A, Level 1

This panel discussion will be moderated by Geneviève Murchison, host and producer for the weekday Téléjournal Manitoba on ICI RADIO-CANADA TÉLÉ.

Panelists are :

After the panel discussion, Gabriel Fields, Franco-Manitoban guitarist for Winnipeg’s Mexican rock-ensemble “The Mariachi Ghost,” will present his work as part of the #Jamuary challenge, where he is pushing himself to create music every day for the month of January.

English panel discussion: Innovation for better lives

Nadia Kidwai
CBC's Nadia Kidwai, host of the English panel discussion

When: 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Where: CMHR, Manitoba Teachers’ Society Classroom C, Level 1

This panel discussion will be moderated by Nadia Kidwai, Host of the Weekend Morning Show on CBC Radio One in Winnipeg.

Panelists are:

The panel discussion will be followed by a film screening of Maestro – Symphony for Humanity, a film about conductor/composer Alexander Mickelthwate (formerly with the WSO) and by a conversation with filmmaker Nihad Ademi*. 

Short film screenings:

When: 5 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Where: CMHR, Manitoba Teachers’ Society Classroom B, Level 1

In collaboration with Video Pool Media Arts Centre:

Funambule by Dominique Rey
2017 | 7:17

FunambuleDominique Rey Funambule moves between the open expanses of the grasslands to the dark shadows of a cedar grove where a traveler and a hunter beckon us to the heart of the forest. In their dogged struggle, it is unclear who will be the victor, the self or the other? On one hand this encounter might lead to self-discovery, on the other to madness.

Dominique Rey is a multidisciplinary artist who explores representations of the peripheral figure and the unconscious other within. She has exhibited across Canada, the United States, and Europe. Her art appears in numerous collections, including the National Gallery of Canada, the Winnipeg Art Gallery, and the Province of Manitoba. She holds a MFA from Bard College (NY) and a MFA from the Transart Institute (Berlin). Dominique Rey was awarded the Canada Council for the Arts residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris in 2016.

 

Pepo by Joel Penner
2016 | 4:57

PepoJoel Penner Pepo is an imaginative exploration of the beauty found as zucchini and squash foliage and flowers desiccate on computer scanners.

Joel Penner is a filmmaker who captures timelapses of plants dying to highlight the beauty of everyday existence. He has done shows of his art films and artistic/ educational presentations in Canada and Europe. Currently he teaches photography and does after-school programming with youth in Winnipeg's inner city.

 

My Flesh Crawls by Alison Davis
2018 | 3:30

My Flesh CrawlsAlison Davis Your flesh is porous. If you are not vigilant something could slip through. It is important to check yourself over and then check again. This hand-painted animation will show you how.

Alison Davis is an animator based in Winnipeg, Canada. Working primarily with drawing, painting and other analogue techniques, her short films and videos explore the vast imaginative and visual possibilities of animation as a medium. Davis holds a BFA in Film Animation from Concordia University in Montreal, and has had the good fortune of screening her films and videos at festivals around the world.

 

Live musical performances:*

Kelly Bado

When: 9 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.  
Where: Bonnie & John Buhler Hall, Level 1

Jérémie and the Delicious Hounds

When: 9:45 p.m. to 10:45 p.m.  
Where: Bonnie & John Buhler Hall, Level 1

Book fair by:

Les Éditions du Blé

*These elements of the program are coordinated by the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Please note that this program is subject to change or cancellation without notice.

Panelist biographies

Adina Balint holds a PhD in modern and contemporary French literature from the University of Toronto (2009). Her academic research explores the intersections between literature, cultural studies and visual arts, focusing on questions of transculturalism, subjectivity and the ethics of the self-other relationship. She published articles on topics such as: the poetics of literary creation, identity and multiculturalism, history and memory, and life experiences in relation to artistic projects. She is associate professor in the Department of Modern Languages and Literature at University of Winnipeg.

Antoine Cantin-Brault is a philosophy professor at Université de Saint-Boniface since 2013. He teaches a wide variety of courses, ranging from ethics to British empiricism, music to education. His research interests focus on pre-Socratic philosophy and German philosophy of the 19th and 20th century, but he is also interested in more marginal cultures such as skateboarding. He is currently launching a research project on the role of Heraclitus in the constitution process of metaphysics, a project that is a logical follow-up to his doctoral studies completed in 2010, carried out in «cotutelle» at Université Laval  and Université de Poitiers in France.

André Lewis is approaching nearly 43 years with Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet, 22 of them as Artistic Director. He has spent most of his career with the RWB, Canada’s first professional dance company. A native of Gatineau, Québec, Lewis began his dance training in Ottawa before being accepted into the Professional Division of the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School in 1975. He joined the RWB Company in 1979 where he enjoyed an accomplished career as a dancer for over 10 years. In 1996, Lewis was appointed Artistic Director of Canada’s RWB.

Anne-Marie Williot is a trilingual multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter from rural Quebec who is now based in Winnipeg. Her songwriting brings to light hidden dream territories which murmur in the subterranean wells of our lives. Above ground, she cares for trees as a professional arborist. A honed poet and performer who writes and sings in French, Spanish and English, she is also a skilled carpenter and gardener. Five years ago, Williot began singing and playing the accordion at the St. Boniface Hospital through Artists in Healthcare. She plays regularly in hallways, waiting rooms, and sometimes in patients’ rooms.

Dr. Gigi Osler is the Head of the Section of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at St. Boniface Hospital and is an Assistant Professor with the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Manitoba. When working at St. Boniface Hospital, she is actively involved in the teaching of medical students and residents. Dr. Osler volunteers annually on surgical missions to low and lower-middle income countries. In 2017, she was awarded the Doctors Manitoba Health or Safety Promotion award in recognition of her efforts to develop and implement programs to support the health and well-being of doctors. She also is past president of Canadian Medical Association.

Diane Roussin is a passionate community leader committed to the pursuit of pimadaziwin (the good life) for all families and children. Her in-depth knowledge of Indigenous issues and solutions flow directly from her strong sense of identity and worldview. She is a proud member of Skownan First Nation and currently lives in Winnipeg. Diane is the Project Manager of the Winnipeg Boldness Project, an ambitious social innovation initiative seeking to create large-scale systems change for children and families in the Point Douglas neighbourhood. She works primarily in Winnipeg’s inner city for initiatives that promote Indigenous People’s values and ways of knowing and being.

Maryam Bafandkar is an MSc student in the Department of Applied Computer Science at the University of Winnipeg. She received a B.Sc. in Computer Engineering and Software at Shiraz University, Iran. Maryam has published two papers in the area of artificial intelligence. Currently, she is working on farming automation. For her, improving the efficiency of current agricultural approaches is important for sustainable food production and the environment.

Matt Schaubroeck is the Programming Director at North Forge Technology Exchange. He is a graduate of the Asper School of Business with a focus on entrepreneurship and international business. He works closely with North Forge members to help them commercialize their start-ups, identify useful resources, and provides coaching to help them achieve their innovation goals. Schaubroeck is also an entrepreneur working in the clean technology and artificial intelligence sectors. His start-up company, ioAirFlow, is helping improve the energy efficiency of commercial buildings.


You may also be interested in...

Makemusic film fest 2020 Dictee Gabrielle Roy 2020 Plug In ICA Presents: Daniel Buren Discotheque Film Fest
Calendar (En) Past Events Recurring Special Events

La Nuit des idées 2020: Être Vivant

Un évènement global pour célébrer la circulation des idées entre les pays, les cultures, les sujets et les générations 

Programme Biographies

L’Alliance Française du Manitoba, en partenariat avec l’Institut français, le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne, Ici Manitoba et CBC Manitoba présentera la 2ème édition de la Nuit des idées, le 31 janvier 2020, à partir de 17h au Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne (85 Israel Asper Way à Winnipeg). L’Alliance Française du Manitoba s’associe pour cette 2ème édition, à la programmation de la veillée du vendredi du Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne.

La Nuit des idées est un évènement gratuit d’envergure mondiale, à l’initiative de l’Institut français, pour célébrer la circulation des idées entre les pays, les cultures, les disciplines et les générations. Chaque année, la Nuit des idées est une invitation à découvrir l’actualité des savoirs, à écouter celles et ceux qui font avancer les idées dans tous les domaines, à échanger sur les grands enjeux de notre temps.

La Nuit des idées 2020 a pour thème Être vivant et sera déclinée de plusieurs façons. Deux panels de discussions auront lieu simultanément. L’un se tiendra en français et portera sur la culture et les arts. L’autre, en anglais, abordera le thème des innovations et des nouvelles technologies.

Venez rencontrer des artistes, des universitaires, des chercheurs et des activistes pour une exploration croisée d’opinions et de nouvelles perspectives. Ne ratez pas l’opportunité de participer à cet évènement mondial!

Programme

Danses autochtones:

Heure : De 17 h 15 à 18 h
Lieu : Salle Bonnie & John Buhler, au niveau 1

Présentées par Aboriginal School of Dance
Présentation par Ray Coco Stevenson*

Table ronde en français : Arts et culture au service du vivant

Geneviève Murchison
Geneviève Murchison, animatrice de la table ronde en français
Gabriel Fields
Musicien Gabriel Fields

Heure : De 18 h à 20 h
Lieu : MCDP, salle de classe A de Manitoba Teachers’ Society, au niveau 1

Le panel en français sera modéré par Geneviève Murchison, réalisatrice et animatrice en semaine du Téléjournal Manitoba sur ICI Radio-Canada Télé.

Les panélistes sont :

Le panel sera suivi d’une présentation de Gabriel Fields, guitariste du groupe rock mexicain The Mariachi Ghost et participant au défi créatif #Jamuary.

Table ronde en anglais : Innovation for better lives (Innover pour mieux vivre)

Nadia Kidwai
Nadia Kidwai, animatrice de la table ronde en anglais.

Heure : De 18 h à 20 h
Lieu : MCDP, salle de classe C de Manitoba Teachers’ Society, au niveau 1

Le panel en anglais sera modéré par l’animatrice de la matinale du week-end de CBC Radio One, Nadia Kidwai.

Les panélistes sont :

Le panel sera suivi de la projection du film Maestro – Symphony for Humanity, un film au sujet du chef d’orchestre et compositeur Alexander Mickelthwate (anciennement directeur de l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg) et d’une conversation avec le réalisateur Nihad Ademi.*

Projection de courts métrages

Heure : De 17 h à 21 h
Lieu : MCDP, salle de classe B de Manitoba Teachers’ Society, au niveau 1

En collaboration avec Video Pool Media Arts Centre:

Funambule by Dominique Rey
2017 | 7:17

FunambuleDominique Rey Funambule se déroule entre les étendues ouvertes des prairies et les ombres sombre d’un cèdre. Dans ce film, un voyageur et un chasseur vous invitent au cœur de la forêt. Dans leur lutte acharnée, une question subsiste: qui sera le vainqueur, soi-même ou l’autre? Cette rencontre peut conduire soit à la découverte de soi soit à la folie.

Dominique Rey est un artiste multidisciplinaire qui explore les représentations de la figure périphérique et de l’inconscient qui se trouve à l’intérieur. Elle a présenté des expositions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Ses œuvres font partie de nombreuses collections, dont celles du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg et de la province du Manitoba. Elle détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts du Bard College (New York) et une maîtrise en beaux-arts du Transart Institute(Berlin). Rey a obtenu la résidence du Conseil des Arts du Canada à la Cité Internationaledes Arts à Paris en 2016.

 

Pepo by Joel Penner
2016 | 4:57

PepoJoel Penner Pepo est une exploration créative de la beauté des courgettes et des fleurs de courges qui se dessèchent sur des scanners informatiques.

Joel Penner est un cinéaste qui capte le passage du temps en filmant des plantes qui meurent pour mettre en valeur la beauté de l'existence quotidienne. Il a présenté ses films d'art et ses présentations artistiques/éducatives au Canada et en Europe. Actuellement, il enseigne la photographie et dirige des programmes parascolaires avec les jeunes du centre-ville de Winnipeg.

 

My Flesh Crawls by Alison Davis
2018 | 3:30

My Flesh CrawlsAlison Davis Votre chair est poreuse. Si vous n'êtes pas vigilant, quelque chose pourrait la transpercer. Il est important de vérifier et de vérifier à nouveau. Cette animation peinte à la main vous montrera comment.

Alison Davis est une animatrice basée à Winnipeg. Travaillant principalement avec le dessin, la peinture et d'autres techniques analogues, ses courts métrages et vidéos explorent les vastes possibilités imaginatives et visuelles de l'animation comme médium. Titulaire d'un baccalauréat en animation cinématographique de l'Université Concordia à Montréal, Alison Davis a eu la chance de présenter ses films et vidéos dans des festivals partout dans le monde.

 

Spectacle musical :*

Kelly Bado

Heure : De 21 h à 21 h 30
Lieu : Salle Bonnie & John Buhler, au niveau 1

Jérémie and the Delicious Hounds

Heure : De 21 h 45 à 22 h 45
Lieu : Salle Bonnie & John Buhler, au niveau 1

Book fair by:

Les Éditions du Blé


*Ces éléments de programmation sont coordonnés par le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne. Veuillez noter que le programme peut être modifié ou annulé sans préavis.

Panelist biographies

Adina Balint est titulaire d’un doctorat en littérature française moderne et contemporaine de l’Université de Toronto (2009). Ses recherches universitaires explorent les intersections entre la littérature, les études culturelles et les arts visuels, en se concentrant sur les questions de transculturalisme, de subjectivité et d’éthique de la relation à l’autre. Elle a publié des articles sur des sujets tels que : la poétique de la création littéraire, l’identité et le multiculturalisme, l’histoire et la mémoire, et les expériences de vie en relation avec des projets artistiques. Elle est professeure agrégée au Département des langues et des littératures modernes de l’Université de Winnipeg.

Antoine Cantin-Brault est professeur de philosophie à l'Université de Saint-Boniface. Il y enseigne une grande variété de cours, qui vont de l'éthique à l'empirisme britannique, en passant par la musique et l'éducation. Ses intérêts de recherche portent principalement sur la philosophie présocratique et la philosophie allemande du 19ème et 20ème siècle, mais il s'intéresse aussi aux cultures plus marginales, comme celle du skateboard. Il amorce présentement un projet de recherche sur le rôle d’Héraclite dans le processus de constitution de la métaphysique, projet qui est une suite logique à ses études doctorales, réalisées en cotutelle à l'Université Laval et l'Université de Poitiers en France, et terminées en 2010.

André Lewis compte près de 43 ans de carrière au Ballet royal de Winnipeg (RWB), dont 22 à titre de directeur artistique. Il a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière au RWB, la première compagnie de danse professionnelle du Canada. Originaire de Gatineau, au Québec, André Lewis a commencé sa formation en danse à Ottawa avant d’être accepté à la division professionnelle de l’école du RWB en 1975. Il s’est joint à la troupe du RWB en 1979, où il a mené une carrière de danseur accompli pendant plus de 10 ans. En 1996, André Lewis a été nommé directeur artistique du Ballet royal de Winnipeg.

Anne-Marie Williot est une multi-instrumentiste et auteure-compositrice-interprète trilingue originaire d’une région rurale au Québec et maintenant établie à Winnipeg. Ses chansons mettent en lumière des territoires de rêve cachés qui murmurent dans les puits souterrains de nos vies. En surface, elle s'occupe des arbres en tant qu'arboriste professionnelle. Poète et interprète qui écrit et chante en français, en espagnol et en anglais, elle est aussi une menuisière et une jardinière chevronnée. Il y a cinq ans, Anne-Marie a commencé à chanter et à jouer de l'accordéon à l'Hôpital Saint-Boniface, par l'entremise du programme Artists in Healthcare. Elle joue régulièrement dans les couloirs, les salles d'attente et parfois dans les chambres des patients.

Dre Gigi Osler est chef du service de chirurgie oto-rhino-laryngologique à l’Hôpital de Saint-Boniface et est professeure adjointe au département de chirurgie oto-rhino-laryngologique à l’Université du Manitoba. Lorsqu’elle travaille à l’Hôpital de Saint-Boniface, elle participe activement à la formation des étudiants et étudiantes en médecine et des résidents et résidentes. La Dre Osler fait du bénévolat chaque année dans le cadre de missions chirurgicales dans des pays à revenu faible et moyen inférieur. En 2017, elle a reçu un prix de Doctors Manitoba en reconnaissance de ses efforts pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des programmes visant à soutenir la santé et le bien-être des médecins. Elle est aussi la présidente sortante de l’association médicale canadienne.

Diane Roussin est une leader communautaire passionnée, engagée dans la poursuite de pimadaziwin (une bonne vie) pour toutes les familles et tous les enfants. Sa connaissance approfondie des questions et des solutions autochtones découle directement de son fort sentiment d’identité et de sa vision du monde. Elle est fière d’être membre de la Première nation Skownan et vit maintenant à Winnipeg. Diane est gestionnaire de projets pour le Winnipeg Boldness Project, une ambitieuse initiative d’innovation sociale qui vise à créer des changements systémiques à grande échelle pour les enfants et les familles du quartier de Point Douglas. Elle travaille principalement dans le centre-ville de Winnipeg dans le cadre d’initiatives qui font la promotion des valeurs et des façons de connaître et d’être des peuples autochtones.

Maryam Bafandkar est étudiante à la maîtrise en sciences au Département d’informatique appliquée de l’Université de Winnipeg. Elle a obtenu un B.Sc. en génie informatique et logiciel à l’Université de Shiraz, en Iran. Maryam a publié deux articles dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle. Elle travaille actuellement sur l’automatisation de l’agriculture. Pour elle, l’amélioration de l’efficacité des approches agricoles actuelles est importante pour la production alimentaire durable et l’environnement.

Matt Schaubroeck est directeur de la programmation à North Forge Technology Exchange. Il est diplômé de l'Asper School of Business et s'intéresse particulièrement à l'entrepreneuriat et au commerce international. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les membres de North Forge pour les aider à commercialiser leurs entreprises en démarrage, à identifier les ressources utiles et à leur fournir un encadrement pour les aider à atteindre leurs objectifs d'innovation. Matt Schaubroeck est également un entrepreneur qui travaille dans les secteurs des technologies propres et de l'intelligence artificielle. Sa jeune entreprise, ioAirFlow, contribue à améliorer l'efficacité énergétique des bâtiments commerciaux.


D'autres options

Dictee Gabrielle Roy 2020 Beaujolais Nouveau 2019 Blues-blanc-rouge Véronique Kanor & Tyler Pennock en résidence Cinéma Sous les Etoiles 2019 Blues
Évènements passés Recurring Special Events Calendrier d'évènements