Recurring


Multilingual Spoken Word Night | May 3 | 7pm | Franco-Manitoban Cultural Centre

An open mic, hosted by Amber O'Reilly and Sébastien Gaillard, open to all: francophones, anglophones, franglophones, and everyone else. Come share your words, bring your voice and your instruments, and the crowd will be there to listen. Rhéal Cenerini will be the writer-in-residence for the evening and will read extracts from his new play ''the enemy of the people,'' which will be published at the end of June in Les Éditions du Blé.


GoGo Penguin with Guillaume Perret | June 24 | 8pm | West End Cultural Centre

Alliance Française du Manitoba is excited to partner with Jazz Winnipeg to present Guillaume Perret at the 2018 Winnipeg Jazz Festival! Perret is a virtuoso jazz saxophonist, keyboard player, and composer from Annecy, France. After recording two excellent albums with his group Electric Epic, French saxophonist Guillaume Perret went solo with Free in 2016: with funky grooves and abstract harmonies, impressions of a retro-futurist Africa and post-psychedelic U-turns, it’s a fusion of all forms of jazz, where all influences collide. He will join Manchester-based leftfield piano trio GoGo Penguin at the West End Cultural Centre.


April 21 | 1:30pm- 6:30pm | Université de Saint-Boniface Room 1214 +1218

Come discover this little salon full of poetic ideas and experiences presented by Maison Gabrielle-Roy. Experienced franco-manitoban authors and budding writers alike will come together to share their works-in-progress. There will be readings, a poetry marathon, exchanges with the authors as well as a francophone editor, a conference on author's rights, and more. You can also participate, at home or in the street, through Facebook Live to add your perspective! Kids and adults welcome!


Film Screening and Discussion | May 24 | 7pm | Free

How can a community preserve a language and culture in danger of disappearing? 

Director Thomas Cauvin, recent professor at the University of Louisiana, pursues this question in his new film ''Theo's Choice,'' which follows the fight of a young French teacher to uncover his Acadian-Creole identity and transmit this heritage to his students. A free screening of the film will be followed by a discussion with the director and community members working to keep diverse languages alive in Manitoba.


19h | FREE Ciné/FEEL presents Nocturama by Bertrand Bonnello ("Saint Laurent," "House of Tolerance")
With Finnegan Oldfield, Vincent Rottiers, Hamza Mezian

Morning in Paris. A group of disillusioned young people each play their part in a strange game weaving through the metro and streets of the capital. They have a dangerous plan and act on it with precision. Their work is done. The night begins.


December 15 | 7pm | Free
Join us for a movie screening of In Bed with Victoria, a film about a lawyer in a sticky situation. Presented in French with English Subtitles.


Tuesday, November 28 at 7pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - FREE
Sign-up starts at 7pm, show at 7:30pm
For the firstevent of the 2017-2018 Spoken Word series, let's meet at Alliance Française to share our words and keep building a community of poets! The event is hosted by  Amber O'Reilly and the Premiere of the season will have author and poet Seream as ambassador of the evening! He will ofer a jazz reading of "Le Tombeau de Jackl Kerouac" for the occasion.
 



Friday, September 15 at 7pm@ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Free
L'EFFET AQUATIQUE // THE TOGETHER PROJECT is Sólveig Anspach last movie. She was an Icelandic-French film director and screenwriter. Born to an American father and an Icelandic mother, Anspach spent most of her life living and working in France. Anspach died after a long battle with breast cancer on 7 August 2015 at the age of 54

Samir, a lanky forty-year-old crane operator in Montreuil, on the outskirts of Paris, falls madly in love with Agathe. As she is a swimming coach at the local pool, he decides to take lessons with her, even though he is a perfect swimmer. Screened in French with English subtitles.


Thursday, July 27 from 6 to 7:30pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Come practice your French in a casual and friendly atmosphere! This conversation group animated by a native French-speaker and is open to everyone, regardless of your skills level. Don't be shy, the whole point of this group is to practice your French! Spots are limited, a Meetup registration is required.
Last event of the season, see you again in the Fall!


Thursday, June 29 from 6 to 7:30pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Come practice your French in a casual and friendly atmosphere! This conversation group animated by a native French-speaker and is open to everyone, regardless of your skills level. Don't be shy, the whole point of this group is to practice your French! Spots are limited,  a Meetup registration is required.
Next event: July 27.


Friday, June 16 at 7pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Free
What about spending some time in Versailles with the movie Ridicule by Patrice Leconte? This dramatic comedy will immerse you in the world of French nobility in the 18th century, while young Ponceludon de Malavoy is getting used to its rules and etiquette… With Charles Berling, Jean Rochefort, Fanny Ardant, Judith Godrèche... Screened in French with English subtitles.


Thursday, May 25 from 6 to 7:30pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Come practice your French in a casual and friendly atmosphere! This conversation group animated by a native French-speaker and is open to everyone, regardless of your skills level. Don't be shy, the whole point of this group is to practice your French! Spots are limited, a Meetup registration is required.
Next events: June 29, July 27.


Friday, June 2 - 5:30-8:00pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - FREE
There is nothing like a fun night of board games with good company… and in French! The game nights are for everyone: children and adults, beginner or advanced French speaker, beginners and game-addicts… it is the perfect way to share some time with your family, friends, or even to meet new people. Our staff will show you a diversity of games, some well-known and some new ones, whether it is heavy or light strategy, competitive or collaborative, etc. There will be options for everyone! A fun and relaxed event with new people and exciting discoveries is what to expect! With the support of  Fédération des Parents du Manitoba.


Friday, May 12 from 7-9pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Free
This Ciné/Feel will present a selection of 11 short movies for a "come and go as you please" evening! Rhythm and variety will definitely keep you interested, with a diversity of genres with comedies, dramas and even legends, and a diversity of length, from 1 to 30min! Many of the short-films presented have been awarded and ensure you of an exciting evening of cinema!


Thursday, April 27 from 6 to 7:30pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3 - Meetup registration required
Come practice your French in a casual and friendly atmosphere! This conversation group animated by a native French-speaker and is open to everyone, regardless of your skills level. Don't be shy, the whole point of this group is to practice your French! Spots are limited,   a Meetup registration is required.
Next events: May 25 and June 29.


Wednesday, April 19 at 7pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Free
In the context of Canadian Film Day 150 organised by Reel Canada, Alliance Française du Manitoba presents Gabrielle, a Quebec movie directed by Louise Archambault released in 2013. The movie is following Gabrielle, a 22 years old with Williams syndrom. She is falling in love with Martin, whose mom doesn't approve the relationship. Gabrielle confronts other people's prejudice and fights her own limitations. All participants will enter a draw and get a chance to win door prizes!


Thursday February 9 at 7:30pm @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - FREE
Come share your words in French and/or English and help us build a strong community of poets. Bring your voice and your instruments, we'll be there to listen.
Registrations at 7pm, show at 7:30pm.

Recurring (Fr)


19h | Gratuit Ciné/FEEL présente Patients de Grand Corps Malade et Mehdi Idir

En amont du Colloque International et transdisciplinaire intituté « Regards croisés sur le handicap en contexte francophone » organisé à l'Université de Saint-Boniface du 12 au 15 juin 2018, l'Alliance Française du Manitoba présente le film "Patients".
Le film sera suivi d'une discussion co-animée par Maria-Fernanda Arentsen, professeure agrégée au département d'études françaises de l'Université de Saint-Boniface et membre du comité d'organisation du colloque.

Se laver, s'habiller, marcher, jouer au basket, voici ce que Ben ne peut plus faire à son arrivée dans un centre de rééducation suite à un grave accident. Ses nouveaux amis sont tétras, paras, traumas crâniens.... Bref, toute la crème du handicap. Ensemble ils vont apprendre la patience. Ils vont résister, se vanner, s'engueuler, se séduire mais surtout trouver l'énergie pour réapprendre à vivre...


GoGo Penguin avecGuillaume Perret | 24 juin | 20h | West End Cultural Centre

L'Alliance française du Manitoba est très heureuse d'annoncer son partenariat avec le Jazz Winnipeg. Guillaume Perret est un compositeur, clavieriste et saxophoniste virtuose originaire d'Annecy (France). Signataire de deux excellents disques avec son groupe Electric Epic, Perret s’est lancé en solo avec un premier disque, Free, en 2016 : entre tourneries funky et harmonies abstraites, entre impressions d’Afrique rétrofuturiste et déviations postpsychédéliques, une fusion de tous les jazz, où s’entrechoquent toutes les influences. Il jouera en première partie du trio de piano insolite GoGo Penguin de Manchester au West End Cultural Centre.


Salon du livre francophone | 21 avril de 13h30 à 18h30 | Université de Saint-Boniface Salle 1214 et 1218 - GRATUIT

Venez découvrir ce petit salon de la poésie rempli d'idées et d'expériences organisé par la Maison Gabrielle-Roy. Des auteurs franco-manitobains confirmés et des jeunes auteurs en herbe, tous réunis pour montrer leurs publications et faire entendre leur travail oral. Il y aura des lectures de textes, un marathon poétique, des échanges avec des auteurs et une éditrice francophone, une conférence sur le droit d'auteur, et bien plus. Vous pouvez également participer, chez vous ou dans la rue, sur Facebook live et ajouter vos commentaires! Enfants et adultes bienvenus!


Projection et discussion | 24 mai | 19h | Gratuit

Comment une communauté peut-elle préserver une langue et une culture menacée de disparition? 

Le réalisateur Thomas Cauvin, professeur à l'Université de Louisiane, s'intéresse à cette question dans son nouveau film «Le Choix de Theo», qui suit la lutte d'un jeune enseignant de français pour découvrir son identité acadienne-créole et transmettre ce patrimoine à ses étudiants. Une projection gratuite du film sera suivie d'une discussion avec le réalisateur et des membres de la communauté qui se consacrent à la survie des langues diverses au Manitoba.


19h | Gratuit Ciné/FEEL présente Nocturama de Bertrand Bonnello ("Saint Laurent," "House of Tolerance")
Avec Finnegan Oldfield, Vincent Rottiers, Hamza Mezian

Paris, un matin. Une poignée de jeunes, de milieux différents. Chacun de leur côté, ils entament un ballet étrange dans les dédales du métro et les rues de la capitale. Ils semblent suivre un plan. Leurs gestes sont précis, presque dangereux. Ils convergent vers un même point, un Grand Magasin, au moment où il ferme ses portes. La nuit commence. . Projeté en français avec soutitres anglais.


15 décembre | 19h | Gratuit
Ciné/FEEL présente Victoria, une histoire d'avocate en situation personelle périleuse... Diffusé en français avec soutitres anglais.


Mardi, 28 novembre 2017 @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Gratuit
Inscriptions dès 7pm, spectaclet 7:30pm

Venez partager vos mots en français et/ou en anglais et aidez-nous à construire une véritable communauté de poètes. Apportez votre voix et vos intruments et nous serons là pour vous écouter et claquer des doigts! La soirée sera animée par  Amber O'Reilly et la première de la saison aura l'honneur d'accueillir le poète Seram pour une lecture jazz du "Tombeau de Kack Kerouac".


Vendredi 15 septembre à 19h @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Gratuit
L'EFFET AQUATIQUE est le dernier film de Sólveig Anspach, la réalisatrice américano-islandaise diplômée de la FEMIS à Paris, décédée en 2015 et qui a reçu à titre posthume, le César du meilleur scénario original pour L'Effet aquatique.

Samir, la quarantaine dégingandée, grutier à Montreuil, tombe raide dingue d’Agathe. Comme elle est maître-nageuse à la piscine Maurice Thorez, il décide, pour s’en approcher, de prendre des leçons de natation avec elle, alors qu’il sait parfaitement nager. Mais son mensonge ne tient pas trois leçons - or Agathe déteste les menteurs! 


Jeudi 27 juillet de 18h à 19h30 @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Venez pratiquer votre français dans une atmosphère informelle! Ce groupe de conversation est ouvert à tous, quel que soit votre niveau, et animé par un francophone de naissance. Pas de gêne, le but c'est de pratiquer! Les places étant limitées, l'inscription sur   l'événement Meetup est requise.
Dernier événement de la saison, rendez-vous à l'automne!


Jeudi 29 juin de 18h à 19h30 @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Venez pratiquer votre français dans une atmosphère informelle! Ce groupe de conversation est ouvert à tous, quel que soit votre niveau, et animé par un francophone de naissance. Pas de gêne, le but c'est de pratiquer! Les places étant limitées, l'inscription sur  l'événement Meetup est requise.
Prochains événements: jeudi 27 juillet.


Vendredi 16 juin à 19h @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Gratuit
Plongez-vous dans l'univers de Versailles avec Ridicule, un film de Patrice Leconte! Cette comédie dramatique vous invitera dans la noblesse française au XVIIIème siècle dont le jeune Ponceludon de Malavoy découvre les ficelles… Avec Charles Berling, Jean Rochefort, Fanny Ardant, Judith Godrèche... Diffusé en français sous-titré.


Jeudi 25 mai de 18h à 19h30 @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3
Venez pratiquer votre français dans une atmosphère informelle! Ce groupe de conversation est ouvert à tous, quel que soit votre niveau, et animé par un francophone de naissance. Pas de gêne, le but c'est de pratiquer! Les places étant limitées, l'inscription sur l'événement Meetup est requise.
Prochains événements: jeudis 29 juin et 27 juillet.


Vendredi 2 juin de 17h30 à 20h @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - GRATUIT
Rien de tel qu’une bonne soirée ludique en agréable compagnie, dans la détente, le plaisir du jeu… et en français s’il vous plait ! Ce RDV est ouvert à tous : petits et grands, francophones et francophiles de tout niveau, novices ou passionnés, pour se retrouver en famille, entre amis ou faire de nouvelles connaissances. Nos animateurs vous présenteront des jeux variés, des plus connus aux plus insolites, des jeux de réflexion ou de chance, des jeux en duels, en groupe ou en équipes… Il y en aura pour tous les goûts ! Amusement, détente, rencontres, découvertes: voici ce qui vous attend! Avec le soutien de la  Fédération des Parents du Manitoba.


Vendredi 12 mai de 19h à 21h @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - Gratuit
Ce Ciné/Feel présentera une sélection de 11 courts-métragesfrancophones. La variété sera de la partie, à la fois dans les genres des films, incluant des comédies, des drames et même un conte fantaisiste, et dans leur longueur, allant d'1 à 30min! Une soirée de grand cinéma assurée, avec de nombreux films primés! N'hésitez pas à nous rejoindre en cours de soirée!


Jeudi 27 avril de 18h à 19h30 @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - $3 -Inscription sur Meetup requise
Venez pratiquer votre français dans une atmosphère informelle! Ce groupe de conversation est ouvert à tous, quel que soit votre niveau, et animé par un francophone de naissance. Pas de gêne, le but c'est de pratiquer! Les places étant limitées, l'inscription sur l'événement Meetup est requise.
Prochains événements: jeudis 25 mai et 29 juin.


Mercredi 19 avril à 19h @ Alliance Française du Manitoba - GRATUIT
Dans le cadre de la Journée du cinéma canadien 150 organisée par Reel Canada, l'Alliance Française du Manitoba présente Gabrielle, film québécois de Louise Archambault sorti en 2013. Le film raconte l'histoire de Gabrielle, jeune femme de 22 ans ayant une déficience mentale. Elle et Martin tombent amoureux mais les personnes de leur entourage n'approuvent pas tous cette relation. Gabrielle doit faire face aux préjugés afin de dépasser ses propres limites. Chaque spectacteur aura la chance de participer à un tirage au sort et de gagner un prix de présence!