International WOMEN's dAY

For the International Women's Day, celebrated on March 8th each year, the Alliance française du Manitoba has prepared the following cultural program:

1. Watch online for free the film "Woman" by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, 2019

Organized by the Alliance française de Toronto | available from 6.30 PM (CST) March 2nd-4th | online




WOMAN is a worldwide project giving a voice to 2000 women across 50 different countries. Despite its very large scale, the film offers an intimate portrait of those who constitute half of humanity. 
It is an opportunity to shed light on the injustices women are subjected to all over the world, but what WOMAN would like to underline most is the inner strength of women and their capacity to change the world despite all the difficulties they are facing. In this new era where women's voices resonate more and more, the aim of the film is not only to call for rights or focus on problems, but to find solutions and try to reconcile the two genders. The project deals with topics such as motherhood, education, marriage or financial independence but also menstruation or sexuality.
Through this film, you will discover the speech of women as you have never heard it before.

RSVP now to get the screening link the day before!

Register for free Register for free


2. Meeting with Anastasia Mikova, film director of the movie "Woman"

Organized by the Alliance française de Toronto | March 4th at 12 PM (CST)| online via Zoom

Don't miss out a unique Q&A with WOMAN film Director Anastasia Mikova and fuser in Canada Chrystelle Maechler. In a Questions & Answers session following the online screening of WOMAN, they will tell us more about the movie.

A Ukranian-born film director and journalist Anastasia Mikova whose work has always focused on social and humanist topics. Among other things, she worked as a journalist for documentaries dealing with issues such as illegal immigration, organ trafficking, or surrogate mothers. In 2009, she became editor-in-chief of the series of documentaries "Earth from Above", which marked the beginning of her collaboration with Yann Arthus-Bertrand. Then acting as first director and co-author, she continued her collaboration with Mr Yann Arthus-Bertrand on the documentary film "Human" managing the editorial team and making herself more than 600 interviews of the film. This collaboration is ongoing as she is now co-directing their new film WOMAN.

Register for free Register for free

3. Watch online several films of the serial "Culottées" 

March 8th | available during 24 hours starting from 5 PM (CST) | online

The Institut Français offers 5 episodes of the serial "Culottées" available to watch online for free during 24 hours. All episodes are in French with English subtitles.


Katia Krafft is a French volcanologist who travelled around the world to attend the most impressive volcanic eruptions which were never documented by human beings, in order to share her knowledge to protect the residents affected by the lava flows.

Leymah Gbowee, battered woman in Liberia in the midst of civil war, frees herself from her victimhood and becomes a fervent activist for peace, bringing together women against the dictatorship that is ravaging the country.

Naziq Al Abid, born into a Syrian bourgeois family, decides to fight for the independence of her country and becomes the first female General of the national army.

Mae Jemison decides that being a black woman won't be an obstacle to fulfilling her dreams. She is the first black woman to be sent to space. And the first astronaut to play in Star Trek.

Wu Zetian, destined for an exciting career as a gentle concubine, becomes, thanks to her political sense and intelligence, the first empress of China, marking the country with a feminist and humanist reign.


Watch online for free Watch online for free


You may also be interested in...

Cinéma Sous les Etoiles 2021 Makemusic2021 Blues Night of Ideas 2019 Dictée Gabrielle Roy 2019 dictee gabrielle roy 2021
Calendar (En) Past Events Recurring Special Events

JournÉe InternationalE des droits Des Femmes

Dans le cadre de la journée internationale des Droits des Femmes qu'on célèbre le 8 mars chaque année, l'Alliance française du Manitoba a préparé une programmation culturelle ci-dessous:

1. Visionner gratuitement le film "Femme(s)" d'Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, 2019

Organisé par l'Alliance française de Toronto | disponible à partir de 18h30 (HNC) du 2 mars au 4 mars | en ligne




FEMME(S) est un projet mondial qui donne la parole à 2,000 femmes à travers 50 pays différents. Cette très large échelle, n'empêche pas le film d'offrir un portrait véritablement intimiste de celles qui représentent la moitié de l'humanité.
Ce documentaire est l’occasion de révéler au grand jour les injustices que subissent les femmes partout dans le monde. Mais avant tout, il souligne la force intérieure des femmes et leur capacité à changer le monde, en dépit des multiples difficultés auxquelles elles sont confrontées. FEMME(S), qui repose sur des entretiens à la première personne, aborde des thèmes aussi variés que la maternité, l'éducation, le mariage et l'indépendance financière, mais aussi les règles et la sexualité.
À travers ce film, vous découvrirez la parole des femmes comme vous ne l’aviez jamais entendue auparavant.

Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour obtenir le lien de projection la veille!

Réservez gratuitement ici Réservez gratuitement ici


2. Rencontre avec la réalisatrice du film "Femme(s)", Anastasia Mikova

Organisée par l'Alliance française de Toronto | le 4 mars à 12h (HNC)| en ligne via Zoom

Ne manquez pas la rencontre exceptionnelle avec la réalisatrice du film FEMME(S) Anastasia Mikova ainsi que la fixeuse au Canada du film Chrystelle Maechler. Dans le cadre de la projection en ligne de FEMME(S), elles nous en diront plus le film lors d'une session Questions Réponses. 

Le travail d'Anastasia Mikova, cinéaste et journaliste d'origine ukrainienne, a toujours porté sur des sujets sociaux et humanistes. Ainsi, elle travaille comme journaliste pour des documentaires sur l'immigration illégale, le trafic d'organes, et les mères porteuses. En 2009, elle devient rédactrice en chef de l'émission "Vu du ciel", le début de sa collaboration avec Yann Arthus-Bertrand. Puis en tant que première assistante réalisatrice et co-auteure, elle poursuit sa collaboration avec Yann Arthus-Bertrand sur le film documentaire "Human", en dirigeant l'équipe éditoriale et en conduisant elle-même plus de 600 interviews. Cette collaboration continue puisqu'elle co-réalise leur nouveau film FEMME(S).

Réservez gratuitement ici Réservez gratuitement ici

3. Visionner gratuitement plusieurs films de la série "Culottées" 

Le 8 mars | disponible pendant 24 heures à partir de 17h (HNC) | en ligne 

L'Institut Français vous propose 5 épisodes de la série "Culottées" disponibles au visionnage en streaming gratuitement durant 24 heures. Tous les épisodes sont en français avec sous-titres en anglais.


Katia Krafft est une volcanologue française qui a
parcouru le monde pour assister aux éruptions volcaniques les plus impressionnantes jamais documentées par l’homme, et partagé son savoir pour protéger les populations concernées par les coulées de lave.

Leymah Gbowee, femme battue dans un Libéria en pleine guerre civile, se libère de son statut de victime et devient une fervente militante pour la paix, rassemblant les femmes contre la dictature qui ravage le pays.

Naziq Al Abid, née dans une famille de la bourgeoisie syrienne, décide de se battre pour l’indépendance de son pays et devient la première femme générale de l’armée nationale.

Mae Jemison décide qu’être une femme noire ne sera pas un obstacle pour accomplir ses rêves. Elle est la première femme noire envoyée dans l’espace. Et la première astronaute à jouer dans Star Trek.

Wu Zetian, destinée à une exaltante carrière de gentille concubine, devient, grâce à son sens de la politique et son intelligence, la première impératrice de Chine, marquant le pays par un règne féministe et humaniste.


Visionnez gratuitement ici Visionnez gratuitement ici


D'autres options

Drawing Workshop dictee gabrielle roy 2021 Semaine de la Francophonie Blues-blanc-rouge Plug In ICA Presents: Daniel Buren Blues-blanc-rouge
Évènements passés Recurring Special Events Calendrier d'évènements